Switch Theme:

How does twin linked and gets hot work  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






So while finishing up my Ravenwing army, i realized something with my black knights, they have twin linked and gets hot.

If on my first roll to hit, i get a 1, and i reroll and hit, do i still take the gets hot hit? Or do i resolve the gets hot hit, then reroll.

Could some one walk me though the hypothetical of using twin linked with gets hot if i rolled a 1 then a 4 lets say, or if i roll a 1 then another 1.

Thanks guys!

To many unpainted models to count. 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





You only take the hit if on the reroll you land a 1, assuming of course you fail your save
   
Made in us
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






Ok so if i roll a 1 on the first go, then i reroll and get a hit, i dont need to take the gets hot rule.

Gets hot only applies to the final roll

To many unpainted models to count. 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





That is correct.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It is worth noting that if you miss at all (Eg. roll a 2 or 3 etc and miss), then roll a 1 on the re-roll you still take the Gets Hot wound and have to try and make a save.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator



Chicago, IL, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
It is worth noting that if you miss at all (Eg. roll a 2 or 3 etc and miss), then roll a 1 on the re-roll you still take the Gets Hot wound and have to try and make a save.

That's questionable. First, here's the text of the rule in question:
Gets Hot and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.

Note that the wording specifies "is also a 1," not "is a 1." My reading is that you have to roll two ones in a row to trigger a Gets Hot check.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Creeperman wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
It is worth noting that if you miss at all (Eg. roll a 2 or 3 etc and miss), then roll a 1 on the re-roll you still take the Gets Hot wound and have to try and make a save.

That's questionable. First, here's the text of the rule in question:
Gets Hot and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.

Note that the wording specifies "is also a 1," not "is a 1." My reading is that you have to roll two ones in a row to trigger a Gets Hot check.

Why would you be using the 'Gets Hot and Re-rolls' section of the rules if the weapon didn't Get Hot in the first place? You wouldn't, as clarified by the draft FAQ:

Q: For units with Twin-linked weapons with the Gets Hot special rule – if the first shot is missed, but not on a rolled 1, and a 1 is rolled for the second shot, does it suffer a Gets Hot wound?
A: Yes.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator



Chicago, IL, USA

I'd be using the Gets Hot and Re-rolls rule because the weapon is getting hot after a re-roll, and the rule itself tells you to reference the first roll. But apparently GW's famous grasp of the English language strikes again, which leads to the nonsensical FAQ ruling.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Creeperman wrote:
I'd be using the Gets Hot and Re-rolls rule because the weapon is getting hot after a re-roll, and the rule itself tells you to reference the first roll. But apparently GW's famous grasp of the English language strikes again, which leads to the nonsensical FAQ ruling.
Whilst it does contradict the actual wording, it does bring it into line with every other re-roll rule, where the first roll is completely ignored.
   
Made in us
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






 Quanar wrote:
Creeperman wrote:
I'd be using the Gets Hot and Re-rolls rule because the weapon is getting hot after a re-roll, and the rule itself tells you to reference the first roll. But apparently GW's famous grasp of the English language strikes again, which leads to the nonsensical FAQ ruling.
Whilst it does contradict the actual wording, it does bring it into line with every other re-roll rule, where the first roll is completely ignored.


THats how i guessed it worked, seemed to be the most fair way to use the rule.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Creeperman wrote:
I'd be using the Gets Hot and Re-rolls rule because the weapon is getting hot after a re-roll, and the rule itself tells you to reference the first roll. But apparently GW's famous grasp of the English language strikes again, which leads to the nonsensical FAQ ruling.

Again, the rule's name is 'Gets Hot and Re-rolls'. 'Gets Hot' is what happens to a weapon that rolls a 1 To Hit and has the 'Gets Hot' rule as can be seen in the rulebook:

Weapons that do not roll To Hit (such as Blast weapons) must roll a D6 for each shot immediately before firing. On a 2+, the shot is resolved as normal. For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot; that shot is not fired...

There in the rules we have GW using the term 'Gets Hot' for the result of rolling a 1 To Hit. You're using the wrong definition of 'Gets Hot'. 'Gets Hot and Re-rolls' is literally 'A weapon with the Gets Hot rules which rolled a 1 To Hit and has Re-rolls'. This is supported by the draft FAQ. Your interpretation is not.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Creeperman wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
It is worth noting that if you miss at all (Eg. roll a 2 or 3 etc and miss), then roll a 1 on the re-roll you still take the Gets Hot wound and have to try and make a save.

That's questionable. First, here's the text of the rule in question:
Gets Hot and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.

Note that the wording specifies "is also a 1," not "is a 1." My reading is that you have to roll two ones in a row to trigger a Gets Hot check.


You do not have to roll two 1's, just a 1 on the re-roll.


"In some situations, the rules allow you to re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like – pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again. The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first..." (General Principles chapter, Re-rolls section).

Therefore the second roll counts. not the first.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Creeperman: your issue is that you are not realizing "gets hot" is both the name of the rule, and the effect.

A weapon that has the gets hot rule and rolls a 1 is said to have received the gets hot effect, otherwise it just functions normally.

So when you see the subheading " gets hot and rerolls" you are assuming that they are referring to the rule name; when they are, in fact, referring to the effect.

Also the basic re-rolls rule at the beginning of the book tells us that all rerolls are treated as a different roll. In most cases you are only rerolling failed attempts at things, or when you are rerolling successful attempts; both rolls are still technically applied to the same situation, but a fail and then a pass for the same save or miss where we are also told to absolutely apply the second result means a net applied pass. Gets hot with a reroll without that verbiage would result in a wound no matter what

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Creeperman: your issue is that you are not realizing "gets hot" is both the name of the rule, and the effect.

A weapon that has the gets hot rule and rolls a 1 is said to have received the gets hot effect, otherwise it just functions normally.

So when you see the subheading " gets hot and rerolls" you are assuming that they are referring to the rule name; when they are, in fact, referring to the effect.

Also the basic re-rolls rule at the beginning of the book tells us that all rerolls are treated as a different roll. In most cases you are only rerolling failed attempts at things, or when you are rerolling successful attempts; both rolls are still technically applied to the same situation, but a fail and then a pass for the same save or miss where we are also told to absolutely apply the second result means a net applied pass. Gets hot with a reroll without that verbiage would result in a wound no matter what


All of which, while true, doesn't matter, because the FAQ says what they wanted to say. Unfortunately, because a lot a GW rules contain these kinds of situations, it can sometimes be confusing as to how it all goes down. But this one is well and truly cleared up, so I think everyone can stop beating it and give this dead horse some room.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: