Switch Theme:

Renegade Master of the Horde -- what happen if the warlord dies?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






In a Renegade army, the Warlord may be upgraded to some options, one of which is Master of the Horde.

The rule says: "Whenever an individual Renegade Infantry squad bought as part of the same army as a Demagogue with this Devotion and numbering at least 15 models at the start of play is removed from play as a casualty [...], roll a D6." On a 5+, an identical unit is placed in reserve.

Do I continue to roll even if my warlord is dead?
I incline to say no, but some say yes.
What do you think?



   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Was the "squad bought as part of the same army as a Demagogue with this Devotion and numbering at least 15 models at the start of play"?

Yes.

   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The answer isn't clear because the Special ability of Devotions aren't clearly defined as an ability of the warlord as an ability of your army/infantry
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






The answer isn't clear because the Special ability of Devotions aren't clearly defined as an ability of the warlord as an ability of your army/infantry
Yeah.

But to me it seems more like a special rule of my warlord than of my infantry squads. If he dies, no one in the army is there for the rule to ''exist''. The rule is triggered by an event which is not related to my warlord, namely the death of an infantry squad, but the rule is on play only because my warlord is on the board. It is not an upgrade of my squads, but an upgrade of the warlord. It says : ''A single demagogue [...] in the army may be upgraded with one of the following options''. In a way, it's like a warlord trait.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/07/26 08:57:57


 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






I disagree. The HQ with the Devotion could be in reserve or removed from play and it isn't required as a model for the devotion to work.

The devotion is explained as an army option. One demagogue - and only one per army! - may be upgraded with one of the devotions. See page 152 IA13, or page 238 Siege of Vraks.

While some devotions have effects for the model itself, the majority is about modifying how the army works. Devotions are mutually exclusive army-wide modifications, more like chapter tactics than anything else.

   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






While some devotions have effects for the model itself, the majority is about modifying how the army works.

Convincing.
Yeah!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/26 20:50:14


 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




 Stephanius wrote:
While some devotions have effects for the model itself, the majority is about modifying how the army works. Devotions are mutually exclusive army-wide modifications, more like chapter tactics than anything else.


Chapter Tactics, or like how some Warlords/HQ let you take certain extra units or put units in different CAD slots when building your army. Just having the guy removed as a casualty doesn't suddenly make your army illegal. They were still bought as part of an army led by this guy.

IMO Master of the Horde is the same sort of special rule, especially since it says "bought as part of the same army". That's the requirement, not having the guy alive.
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






I am sold on this.
(But notice that the Master of the Horde devotion is not changing battle roles and the army structure like the other devotions.)
   
Made in ca
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






FW answer, via their FB account, is : the Master of the Horde rule stops working if the warlord dies.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Based on RAW it continues even if the Warlord dies because it's a detachment rule. Maybe they will change it some day but that is currently how it works.

   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Virules wrote:
Based on RAW it continues even if the Warlord dies because it's a detachment rule. Maybe they will change it some day but that is currently how it works.
its not a detachment rule, it's an upgrade on the warlord that has effects on units in the detachment
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: