Switch Theme:

Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Which interpretation of the rule is correct?
1
2
3
Other (Please explain)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I want to re-examine something I asked a while back, specifically attacks which deal multiple wounds.

The Vindicare Turbo-Penetrator states that "one shots inflict D3 wounds rather than just 1".

My question is when does 1 wound multiply? I fire the single shot, and as I can see it can be interpreted in a number of ways:

1: One shot hits, and D3 to-wound rolls are made.
2: One shot hits, a single to-wound roll is made, and the target takes D3 saves
3: One shot hits, a single to-wound roll is made, the target takes a single save, taking D3 wounds if failed.

Which one is correct?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




3, I believe.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Similar to D weapons and melta on super heavy, any saves are taken versus "the on shot," so 1 Turbo-penetrator hit, 1 save (and/or associated FNP) then if wound is unsaved, then it causes D3 wounds.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Does it say it does D3 wounds to the *unit* or to the *model*?

I would say #2 just to make it consistent, because if a unit is hit and gets "D3 wounds on the unit" you wouldn't expect just one save to remove or fail them all, but rather you would assume you were to save each wound individually since it would potentially be killing three separate models.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

 Purifier wrote:
Does it say it does D3 wounds to the *unit* or to the *model*?

I would say #2 just to make it consistent, because if a unit is hit and gets "D3 wounds on the unit" you wouldn't expect just one save to remove or fail them all, but rather you would assume you were to save each wound individually since it would potentially be killing three separate models.


That's where some of the confusion lies, it doesn't specify either model or unit. The OP quotes the relevant part of the rule word-for-word.
   
Made in ca
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot






Canada

I believe that because all shots made by a Vindicare have the Precision Shots special rule, that the D3 wounds inflicted go only onto the chosen model, and any excess wounds do not roll over into the unit the model may be in.

I voted #3

6000 pts
2000 pts
2500 pts
3000 pts

"We're on an express elevator to hell - goin' down!"

"Depends on the service being refused. It should be fine to refuse to make a porn star a dildo shaped cake that they wanted to use in a wedding themed porn..." 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






I vote 3, because other such rules in the past only caused D3 or D6 wounds after a failed save.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

 Valkyrie wrote:

3: One shot hits, a single to-wound roll is made, the target takes a single save, taking D3 wounds if failed.

As it causes "D3 wounds instead of 1", I would take that to mean that whenever it scores the wound successfully, (after saves, etc), the damage is multiplied then.

Backed up by the fluff:


Wait, wat.

Maybe not RAW, but as a hint on RAI:

"Turbo-penetrator shells are segmented cylinders, each portion tipped with a concentrated
melta charge that activates with a staggered detonation. This allows a single bullet to blast
through successive layers of armour, no matter their thickness or composition."

It would make more sense as per the fluff if the extra wounds were used not to inflict a greater physical damage, but as a way to bypass layered defences.

Ap2 gets you past the armour, and then you inflict 1xD3 wounds (as you roll for the wound before saves are made), Invulns and FnP roll next, and then will be statistically worn down by the multiple wounds. Resulting in the defences being penetrated.

Interesting if true...
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

 Retrogamer0001 wrote:
I believe that because all shots made by a Vindicare have the Precision Shots special rule, that the D3 wounds inflicted go only onto the chosen model, and any excess wounds do not roll over into the unit the model may be in.

I voted #3


Only on a 4+, right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/01 18:42:26


DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

Seems to be automatic.

"Deadshot: All successful To-Hit rolls made by a Vindicare Assassin, excluding snap shots, have the Precision Shots special rule."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/01 18:45:31


 
   
Made in ca
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot






Canada

ALL shots by the Vindy are Precision - he always picks the model he wants to headshot

6000 pts
2000 pts
2500 pts
3000 pts

"We're on an express elevator to hell - goin' down!"

"Depends on the service being refused. It should be fine to refuse to make a porn star a dildo shaped cake that they wanted to use in a wedding themed porn..." 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

Ah. I misremembered.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

In the Skitarii Codex, the Rad Poisoning rule reads

Rad Poisoning: When firing a weapon that has this special rule, a To Wound roll of 6 causes 2 Wounds on the target unit, regardless of the target’s Toughness. Each Wound is allocated and saved against separately.


The fact that it feels the need to specify the italic text at the end makes me think you're right, that if it's not specified, it's option 3. You either do none or all of the wounds in the case of the Vindicare.

 
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






I agree with Purifier. And in the Rad poisoning rule, it clearly says 'unit'.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Selym wrote:
Seems to be automatic.

"Deadshot: All successful To-Hit rolls made by a Vindicare Assassin, excluding snap shots, have the Precision Shots special rule."

Your bit in quotations is misrepresentative and inaccurate.

They do not have the precision shots special rule, they are precision shots.

The rule is that to-hits of a 6 are precision shots; deadshot is that any successful hits are precision shots and then reiterates what that means.

Now, this doesn't change what you were saying, but it could lead to an unnecessary argument from someone going by your "quote". I had to double-check both the precision shots special rule(to make sure it hadn't changed and I missed that) and the Vindicare's ALE as that didn't make any sense.

Anyhow, to the OP: definitely #3, as it is d3 wounds instead of 1. Although #2 also holds some merit as it is also not specifying unsaved wounds(although wounds "inflicted" is usually referencing unsaved wounds while causing is pre-saves).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

Except that's the line in the dataslate. If my quote is misrepresentative, so is the dataslate.
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






I'm looking at the Mont'Ka Book and Selym is right, that's exactly how it's worded.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Valkyrie wrote:
I want to re-examine something I asked a while back, specifically attacks which deal multiple wounds.

The Vindicare Turbo-Penetrator states that "one shots inflict D3 wounds rather than just 1".

My question is when does 1 wound multiply? I fire the single shot, and as I can see it can be interpreted in a number of ways:

1: One shot hits, and D3 to-wound rolls are made.
2: One shot hits, a single to-wound roll is made, and the target takes D3 saves
3: One shot hits, a single to-wound roll is made, the target takes a single save, taking D3 wounds if failed.

Which one is correct?


I voted #3, because I believe that to be what was intended, but by the RAW, it would seem to be #2. A wound is inflicted for a successful hit and to-wound roll. In this case, instead of inflicting a single wound, it inflicts d3. A save can be made any time a wound would be lost, and since d3 wounds wounds would be lost, this would mean you'd get that many saves.

However, I stand by #3, because I believe they wanted it to function like Strength D - with one failed save resulting in a different number of wounds lost rather than just the 1.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





The only way i see the turbo penetrator taking out more than 1 model is in a guard blob, with d3 guys standing in a row with cardboard armor.
But again, I think the intention is to kill that 1 guy very dead (or vehicle) causing d3 wounds on 1 model.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: