| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 12:22:56
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
There's probably a rule for this but I'm struggling to find it, anyway my question is - Is there any rule that obliges a unit to start in a dedicated transport that was purchased for it?
eg. Wolf Guard purchase a Land Raider but want to stay outside of it so Wulfen can pile in on the first turn.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 12:43:19
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
London
|
short answer: No, but noone else can start inside it if they don't
it doesnt take up a force org slot but still counts as a HS/FA choice.
it's only limitation is that it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any IC's that joined it) on deployment.
An example of this would be taking a razorback for a tactical squad of 10. Not all 10 can fit inside, so you either combat ( squad them and transport 5 and 5 walk), or all walk.
Note there is no restriction on putting a unit that has a dedicated transport assigned to it, into another transport that isn't a dedicated one for another squad.
depending on whether you play the FAQ's or not, there is a restriction on mixing faction transports, even with battle brother alliance levels.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 13:04:41
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Thanks.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 13:12:21
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
More correctly: that particular example, none to date.
There are a few formations that both require DTs and for the units to deploy embarked. Skyhammer annihilation foce drop pods for devastator squads is an easy example.
The Formatiin restrictions or some of their special rules will detail when this is the case, but there is no general rule that states it outside those specific lists.
And the FAQ restricts deployment in a battle-brothers transport(although the question there almost seems like the answer was assuming DT), you can always get your battle brothers in during your movement phase.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 21:10:52
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
So, no restriction on the Wolf Guard starting beside their Land Raider rather than inside it?
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/05 21:23:12
Subject: Dedicated Transport question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Dakka Wolf wrote:So, no restriction on the Wolf Guard starting beside their Land Raider rather than inside it?
None whatsoever.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|