Switch Theme:

Question about blst scatters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






So I want to know if my blast scattesr and lands on another unit that's in different elevation level than the original target, does it count as hit or miss?

Thanks for answer in advance
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Blasts targeting elevations is a mechanic from 6th edition that was dropped in 7th. In 7th, a blast marker hits all models under it, regardless of height (so it's like a cylinder of infinite height).
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






https://www.facebook.com/1575682476085719/photos/a.1576243776029589.1073741828.1575682476085719/1610527105934589/?type=3&theater

BLAST MARKERS & TEMPLATES
Q: Do blast weapons, regardless of size or type, now hit all models at all height levels under the template? And if so, is intervening terrain (such as bridges or floors) ignored when determining how many hits are caused?
A: A blast marker or template affects all models underneath it, including those on different levels of a piece of scenery. (Designer’s Note: Earlier versions of this rule restricted the effect of blast markers and templates to models on ‘a single level’ of scenery. This created problems with scenery that didn’t have strictly definable ‘levels’ and we decided on this change for simplicity. In addition, we feel the rules now better reflect the explosions being three-dimensional (i.e. spherical and not circular) as well as better representing the deadliness of weapons such a flamers when used in confined spaces.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/06 02:55:51


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Malakki89 wrote:
So I want to know if my blast scattesr and lands on another unit that's in different elevation level than the original target, does it count as hit or miss?

Thanks for answer in advance


We need more information on the nature of your question.

Were you asking if the models in the other unit are hit at all? That question was answered above.

-or-

Were you asking if the scatter counts as a missed shooting attack(for some re-roll to hits allowing you to re-roll the scatter)?
   
Made in nz
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Does this include barrage weapons? Didn't realise they could hit troops hiding under a floor of ruins for example? If so my artillery just got more powerful!

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 DoomMouse wrote:
Does this include barrage weapons?
Barrage weapons are Blast weapons with additional rules, and the restriction that was in 6th about only hitting the top floor has been removed in 7th.
   
Made in nz
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






So you can target a ruin full of fire warriors (for example) that can't be seen from above and potentially hit a lot of them if they are spread out over multiple floors?

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 DoomMouse wrote:
So you can target a ruin full of fire warriors (for example) that can't be seen from above and potentially hit a lot of them if they are spread out over multiple floors?


If they can't be seen they can't be selected as a target, so in that scenario, no.
   
Made in nz
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






I thought barrage weapons didn't require LOS?

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Barrage Weapons draw LOS from the centre of the blast marker.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 DoomMouse wrote:
I thought barrage weapons didn't require LOS?


Oh, duh. Serves me right for replying while drugged up on cold meds and not having read the thread properly. Ignore me.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Barrage does not draw LOS from the center of the blast. That would make targeting impossible.

For the purposes of cover saves and wound allocation the shot is considered as originating from the center.

You can freely target a unit that cannot be seen even from above with barrage(so long as the lack of LOS is not due to embarkation; i.e. vehicle or intact building).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/08 13:59:03


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In order to determine cover saves you have to determine if your LOS is obscured, yes?
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes, and no.

LOS as a blanket term is generally assumed part if targeting(see the confusion above).

For the purposes of cover in a barrage blast there is nothing to draw True LOS from; the marker is most likely above the miniatures so the simple intervening of a low wall that would actually grant cover, following the LOS rules, would not with enough distance that the model is under the marker but not obscured in any way. Blasts under the current rules are effectively beams that start in the center and widen out.

Ruins, such as what is being discussed here, grant a cover save simply for being within thier boundaries; so LOS has nothing to do with the purposes of cover saves here.

Additionally what the rule is saying is that if you are shooting at a model in open ground, but there is either a cover providing piece of terrain that you have LOS through, or a piece of terrain that completely blocks LOS; the models hit will not receive cover saves(as the center of the blast to the model in question has no intervening cover).


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: