Switch Theme:

Jet Pack Units and "The Relic" Mission  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was playing Orks against a Tau/Renegades army in the Relic mission.

The Tau/Renegades player had 3 Riptides. One of the Riptides grabbed the relic.

I have a few questions about this:

A) Does anything about the mission rules for The Relic in the BRB prevent the Riptide from doing a Thrust move (i.e. moving during the assault phase)? I think it IS allowd to do a Thrust move, but is limited to 6" of thrust move.

B) The Skyborne rule allows models to move over terrain and essentially land on the other side, or even land on top of it, so long as the model can actually be set on top of that terrain. BUT HERE'S MY THINKING...

A normal infantry model must climb vertically (6" per turn) to get to those high ledges. A Riptide can get right on up there immediately whenever it moves. I'm not arguing that. What I'm arguing is that the Riptide would be LIMITED TO SIX INCHES OF MOVEMENT DURING ITS THRUST MOVE.

Just curious what the consensus is, and if any TO's have ruled on it, (e.g. ITC, ETC, etc.)

Thanks for the thoughts and opinions in advance!
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





According to the mission rules.

the model carrying the Relic cannot Run and can never move more than 6" in any phase.

So yes can do a trust move just not more than 6", about the distance jumping over a building it's a bit of so so, as there is nothing in the rules that explain fully the 6" move or how much it limits if jumping over obstacles.


P.S: the irony it's that by RAW 6" move may stop him from jumping on top of a building or mountain if the movement puts him further than 6" from the original position at the beginning of the phase but may not impede him to jump OVER it if it lands within 6" horizontally...

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/08/09 21:32:55


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When using skyborne to go from one horizontal plane to the same, you never measure a vertical component regardless of what is the way.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





nosferatu1001 wrote:
When using skyborne to go from one horizontal plane to the same, you never measure a vertical component regardless of what is the way.


as nonsensical as this is, correct... And boy do I abuse it with large vertical terrain
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I think we're getting on to two different points here. That's my fault, as my first post lacks clarity.

We are agreed that Skyborne allows the model to move over models and terrain and land on the same horizontal plane. If using the Jet Pack during the Movement phase, it is limited to 6" vertically, horizontally, or a combination of the two.

If using the Jet Pack during the assault phase WITH the Thrust move, it can go 2D6".

The issue is: Can his relic-holding Riptide Thrust move up to the top of a 9" high building and land on top of it during the assault phase, while holding the Relic (which limits that model to 6" of movement in any phase). For arguments' sake, let's assume the Riptide is in base contact with the vertical building it is going to get on top of.

This issue stems from the fact that our local gaming group has been playing Jet Pack units wrong for a long while now. We had (up until this week), allowed those units to move to the very top of tall structures, well beyond their 6" or 2D6" limitations.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/10 20:09:33


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Didn't the FAQ addressed that, and said that you in fact had to measure in straight line?
So moving on top a 4" building that is 3" away from you requires 5" of movement (straight line, as opposed to 4 + 3).
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Are you referring to the Facebook posted FAQ, which isn't official yet? Or is there another one I'm not recalling?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




lucaselgato wrote:
Are you referring to the Facebook posted FAQ, which isn't official yet? Or is there another one I'm not recalling?


I am. But I just checked and I actually found the opposite of what I said in my previous post:

Q: Does vertical movement count towards maximum movement distance on jump pack and jet pack moves?
A: No.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You can't move "up" 9" if you're restricted to 6" , no.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: