Switch Theme:

Pile-in Rule Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





So according to the 3-page rules, a pile in move is made when a unit is within 3" of an enemy unit and thus is considered and activates in the combat phase.
The rule specifies that all models in the unit can make a 3" move toward the closest enemy model.

If I have a unit spread out, and the far left model in the unit is 5" from some enemy unit on the left, and the far right model in the unit is 2" from an enemy unit on the right. Lets say that the far left model is 8" from the enemy unit on the right.
Can the far left model pile in 3" toward the left enemy unit, even though it is not considered in combat? What happens to coherency in this case?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/14 05:32:02


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




They could do both ie left to left right to right as that is the closest model. However, only if you could maintain coherency...if not then none in the unit could pile-in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/14 06:18:06


 
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





I find the example a little hard to picture mentally, so I will outline some general principles of Pile-In.

Step 1: When you pile in, you may move each model in the unit up to 3” towards the closest enemy model. This will allow the models in the unit to get closer to the enemy in order to attack them.
Step 2: Each model in the unit attacks with all of the melee weapons it is armed with (see Attacking).


1. Models must maintain coherency when piling-in, as with any move.
2. Models must finish their pile in move closer to the closest enemy model.
3. Pile-in is optional on a model by model basis (so what Mj445 says is incorrect). You can choose to pile-in some models and not others in a unit. You may want to do this if your models are being "pulled" in opposite directions by their respective closest model.
4. So in the example you talk about, that model on the flank would have to move towards the other unit if its closest enemy model belongs to it, however it cannot break coherency so it would likely instead stay put - but this doesn't stop the other models in the unit from piling in. You might need to make a little conga line to keep coherency (as you aren't forced to move the full 3"), but you would be able to pile-in most of the unit still.


Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




3. Pile-in is optional on a model by model basis (so what Mj445 says is incorrect). You can choose to pile-in some models and not others in a unit. You may want to do this if your models are being "pulled" in opposite directions by their respective closest model.


I assumed since he was stretched between units, that the pile-in would be unlikely as even if you can choose to not move some (which you are correct), moving to the right while leaving some on the left behind while maintaining 1" coherency would be hard. If he could not maintain coherency, like in such a case as his example, then he wouldn't be able to pile-in. Also we don't know how many models were are talking about here...one line? If two or more than yea standing still with some will maintain coherency.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/14 11:19:27


 
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





Yeah that's right I just thought you were stating that if one model couldn't pile-in, none of the unit could. No worries!

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in gb
Tough Treekin




Also in answer to OP, if you completed a successful chargebut are no longer within 3" of an enemy unit (due to casualty removal or other effects) you can still pile-in.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




RoperPG wrote:
Also in answer to OP, if you completed a successful chargebut are no longer within 3" of an enemy unit (due to casualty removal or other effects) you can still pile-in.


You wouldn't be able to pile-in if none in the unit are within 3"
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





If you charged, but no models are within 3" due to casualty removal, you can still pile-in.

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Really? Lokked in the rules and faqs couldnt find it.

Found it, Combat Phase "a unit that has charged or is within 3"..."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/08/15 20:39:01


 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





Thanks for the answers guys!

The clarification on the Pile-in for units that charged but are not within 3" due to casualty is also helpful.
I was confused at the purpose of units with Pile-in 6", that rule makes it more meaningful.
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





Mj445 wrote:
Really? Lokked in the rules and faqs couldnt find it.

Found it, Combat Phase "a unit that has charged or is within 3"..."


Yeah, I wasn't aware of it till recently when it came up in the coverage of the U.K. Alliance tournament. It's an interesting rule.

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in gb
Tough Treekin




 Bottle wrote:
Mj445 wrote:
Really? Lokked in the rules and faqs couldnt find it.

Found it, Combat Phase "a unit that has charged or is within 3"..."


Yeah, I wasn't aware of it till recently when it came up in the coverage of the U.K. Alliance tournament. It's an interesting rule.

Yeah, was a "No they can't... I'm sure.. hang on.. what?!" moment for me, too...
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: