Switch Theme:

Can I buy a dedicated transport for a unit that's too big?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






Can I buy an Immolator for a unit of Battle Sisters that has 20 models? I know I couldn't start them inside of the transport, but could I buy it for the armored flamers?



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Some codex allow for it and some don't

The dark elder entries are clear in that unit sizes must be 5 for venoms and 10 or less for raiders.

Conversely - the marine book allows 10 man squads to take razorbacks with no limits

Short answer - check your codex!

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Depends entirely on the specific Army List Entry.

A unit of 10 tactical marines are free to take a razorback; a unit of 5 assault marines with jump packs cannot take drop pod.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

To clarify - if the army list entry puts a unit cap on buying transports, then a cap applies.

Some do, some don't.

 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

In the specific case of Sisters of Battle, yes you may.

 
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





Thanks everyone.



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Atlanta

In the marines case, since they can combat squad, it'd be silly for the codex to not allow it.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

I want to say that the only codex that has ever restricted it is the last edition Dark Eldar codex, which specifically noted units 5 & under could take Venoms and unit 10 & under could take Raiders. The current codex however just says "may take a Venom or Raider", so that restriction is gone.

As far as I know, no codex entry in the current state of 40K restricts access to DTs due to unit size. You can buy a Transport capacity 10 DT for a 20-man unit if you want, they just won't fit in up until half the unit is dead.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




A unit with a dedicated transport must deploy with the unit it is dedicated to embarked upon it. A unit can not embark into a transport (dedicated or otherwise) if it's number is greater than the capacity of the transport.
So, not withstanding an army/unit special rule allowing a unit to be split or spread across multiple dedicated transports (supposing that a unit could purchase multiple dedicated transports) they would not be able to embark for deployment and the transport or excess models would be sacrifices.
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:
A unit with a dedicated transport must deploy with the unit it is dedicated to embarked upon it. A unit can not embark into a transport (dedicated or otherwise) if it's number is greater than the capacity of the transport.
So, not withstanding an army/unit special rule allowing a unit to be split or spread across multiple dedicated transports (supposing that a unit could purchase multiple dedicated transports) they would not be able to embark for deployment and the transport or excess models would be sacrifices.


IIRC there is no requirement to start in your dedicated transport.

and I have no idea where you are getting the sacrificed thing from.

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:
A unit with a dedicated transport must deploy with the unit it is dedicated to embarked upon it. A unit can not embark into a transport (dedicated or otherwise) if it's number is greater than the capacity of the transport.
So, not withstanding an army/unit special rule allowing a unit to be split or spread across multiple dedicated transports (supposing that a unit could purchase multiple dedicated transports) they would not be able to embark for deployment and the transport or excess models would be sacrifices.


Uh, what?

Dedicated Transports may begin the game with only the unit for which they were purchased embarked, but there's no requirement for the unit to deploy embarked upon or even with their Dedicated Transport.
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






I think he may have read the "Dedicated Transport" section wrong.

If a unit buys a Dedicated Transport, only the unit that bought the transport can deploy in it. Nothing says they have to actually start in the transport, just that no one else can start in it.

Note that if I remember correctly other units can embark on the transport during the course of the game. But this means that they have to waste at least a turn embarking.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought





Yeah, that's bizarre; the term is dedicated transport, not psychotic stalker transport. "You must be within meeee!"

"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Mr_Rose wrote:
Yeah, that's bizarre; the term is dedicated transport, not psychotic stalker transport. "You must be within meeee!"


I could see them doing that with the next CSM Codex though, with possessed transports.
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

There's a reason why sometimes a model goes missing when a unit comes out of a transport.

*Om nom nom*

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yeah....my bad. Sorry about that. Before I posted I read the rules under dedicated transport and I swear I read 'must carry' not '...can only carry...'
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





 Mr_Rose wrote:
Yeah, that's bizarre; the term is dedicated transport, not psychotic stalker transport. "You must be within meeee!"



If my Sister of Battle transports, or any of my Sisters models for that matter, start yelling "You must be within meee!", I'm selling them off and going to pay more attention to my wife.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/30 15:43:21




Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





From what i read I don't see any restrictions when taking a dedicated transport. If in not mistaken couldn't you say take a command squad on bikes in a gladius and still take a free dedicated transport? I don't see any restriction on that, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






 Tibs Ironblood wrote:
From what i read I don't see any restrictions when taking a dedicated transport. If in not mistaken couldn't you say take a command squad on bikes in a gladius and still take a free dedicated transport? I don't see any restriction on that, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Yes, you can, nothing prohbits this.

   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

 danyboy wrote:
 Tibs Ironblood wrote:
From what i read I don't see any restrictions when taking a dedicated transport. If in not mistaken couldn't you say take a command squad on bikes in a gladius and still take a free dedicated transport? I don't see any restriction on that, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Yes, you can, nothing prohbits this.


Some squads, like assault marines, do have the verbiage “If you don’t take JPs, then you may take a rhino etc.”

The command squad doesn’t. So bikes+razor is fine.

So be careful making assumptions about other units from this example.

   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





I'm glad my extrememly nuanced Adeptus Sororitas question helped answer other Q's.



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






If you want a really amusing situation, considering the Necron Codex's errata allowing Nightscythes to carry Jump Infantry, this means that for a long time you could buy a Nightscythe for Triarch Praetorians (who have them as a DT option) and not be able to embark them on the Nightscythe.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: