Switch Theme:

Jinking flyers/skimmers with machine spirit and blast weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Fresh-Faced New User



Trondheim Norway


So the question is if a flyer thats jinking and have the machine spirit rule then decides to shot a blast weapon.

Jink says that you may only fire snap shots so no blast weapons. Machine spirit says that you can fire a weapon at full bs, but it does not say anything about allowing to shot blast weapons.

Rai is probably that you can fire the weapon.
Raw says that you cant as there is nothing that allows you to do it.

My armies
4000+++ of orks
2500+ Imperial guard
2500p soon to be thousand sons.
5000p of orcs
3000p of ogres
2500p Chaos dwarfs!!

Trondheim warhammer forum www.wartrond.net

Up for a match on vassal send me a pm! or just message Rune m if im online on vassal  
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Here's a link to the first page of the Space Marine draft FAQ that GW has put out.

Whilst it doesn't mention Jink, it does mention Crew Stunned / Shaken, which produces the same result (i.e. snapshots), and mention Templates instead of Blasts, but effectively the same.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Quanar wrote:
Here's a link to the first page of the Space Marine draft FAQ that GW has put out.

Whilst it doesn't mention Jink, it does mention Crew Stunned / Shaken, which produces the same result (i.e. snapshots), and mention Templates instead of Blasts, but effectively the same.


You seem to have a lot of that page mixed up in this post.

The one that references templates in the question doesn't just say you can fire the weapon, it even tells you that blasts use full ballistic skill.

OP, yes blasts/templates may be fired via POTMS any time you a forced to make snapshots
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Quanar wrote:
Here's a link to the first page of the Space Marine draft FAQ that GW has put out.

Whilst it doesn't mention Jink, it does mention Crew Stunned / Shaken, which produces the same result (i.e. snapshots), and mention Templates instead of Blasts, but effectively the same.


You seem to have a lot of that page mixed up in this post.

The one that references templates in the question doesn't just say you can fire the weapon, it even tells you that blasts use full ballistic skill.

OP, yes blasts/templates may be fired via POTMS any time you a forced to make snapshots


Except when shooting at Zooming Flyers/Swooping FMCs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/27 12:25:58


 
   
Made in no
Fresh-Faced New User



Trondheim Norway


But the snap shot rule says that it always aplies unless a rule specificaly says that it overides it and potms does not do that it only says you may fire at full BS so bassicly it only Works on splitting fire.

My armies
4000+++ of orks
2500+ Imperial guard
2500p soon to be thousand sons.
5000p of orcs
3000p of ogres
2500p Chaos dwarfs!!

Trondheim warhammer forum www.wartrond.net

Up for a match on vassal send me a pm! or just message Rune m if im online on vassal  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

saitani wrote:

But the snap shot rule says that it always aplies unless a rule specificaly says that it overides it and potms does not do that it only says you may fire at full BS so bassicly it only Works on splitting fire.


Except the FAQ answer mentioned which says it does override it.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes, Jew, I did not mention targeting or hitting restrictions from the model/unit getting hit.

Similarly, you cannot hit a model 30" from a template weapon via POTMS.

Although, and I didn't point this out earlier, this ruling does mean that you can target a unit under Invisibility with full bs/a template or blast via POTMS.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: