Switch Theme:

Necron Reanimation protocol question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User





Hi guys, fairly new 40k player here so excuse misuse of jargon ect

a friend of mine and i are discussing how to use the reanimation protocol rule when playing.

my understanding when reading the rule is that for example: he shoots at me, he hits, he wounds, i fail an armor save, i roll reanimation protocol and on a 5+, the wound doesnt count.

his interpretation is that he shoots, he hits, he wounds, i fail to save, model is dead. at the end of his turn, i roll reanimation protocol, and on a 5+ that unit not dead anyway.


the difference being i belive i roll after my save roll, he believes i roll after his turn is up.

if any of us is right, who and why.

best regards. Jan
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yours is the correct route. Its taken the same time as Feel No Pain, so directly after an unsaved wound is caused.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

The timing is exactly like Feel No Pain, which is why they added the "pick between Feel No Pain or Reanimation" section of the rule.

So correct order is:
Shoot, Hit, Causes a Wound, Fail Armor/Invulnerable save, Reanimation Protocol, Wound Saved or Unsaved, Apply effects that trigger off from Unsaved Wounds.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Note that what may be causing the confusion is that prior to the current codex, the "lie the model on it's side and roll at the end of the phase" way was the correct way - so if you're reading articles online they may have been written years ago when that was how it was done.

As the other posters have pointed out, it's now done in exactly the same way and time as Feel No Pain rolls.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually in one codex that was true, and the one before that you waited until the entire next turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: