Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 02:09:31
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi everybody,
The previous thread discussing this, which I attempted to ask this question in, was just closed on me without the question being answered. The reason being that the thread was four years old. (I suppose it's no less sensible than when people give their reasoning for certain expectations as "because it's [insert year]", but I still don't understand it.)
So now I'm asking (in a new thread in 2016) the exact same thing I was asking before. I'll summarize because I know nobody wants to have to go and read that whole other thread just to answer my question here.
On October 10th, 2012, toxic_wisdom asked about how the Black Staff of Ahriman worked with respect to Ahriman manifesting multiple witchfire powers in a turn. The immediate answer was that it allowed Ahriman to manifest three witchfire powers, provided he knows them. There was some further attempt to clarify what that meant, and the answer that seemed to be accepted was that Ahriman's ability to cast multiple witchfire powers does not allow him to cast the same witchfire power more than once per turn.
Now, four years later, with new rules and FAQ having been released, I am asking if that is still correct. I have Ahriman because I assumed that his staff allowed him to cast the same witchfire power (ex. Smite) up to three times per turn. I am also not aware of any rules prohibiting a psyker from casting more than one witchfire power per turn, but I know there are rules prohibiting a psyker from casting the same power more than once per turn.
So, does Ahriman's Black Staff allow him to cast a witchfire power more than once per turn? If not, then what's the point of it?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/09/05 02:13:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 02:25:20
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
For clarity, it was closed because we don't allow thread necromancy like that. You agreed to the rules when you created this account. Thanks
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 02:25:57
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 02:46:21
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yarium wrote:No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
Cheers!
Yeah, I am hoping that some new rules come with the new plastic model that is being released. It looks pretty nice; I might have bought it if I didn't already have Ahriman. If the rules for him aren't expanded, though, I'm going to be quite disappointed. His staff does precisely nothing right now.
Yeah, not going to discuss the sensibility of forum rules with you when you're of the mindset "it's a rule because it's a rule". I got my answer, you got the question being asked in a new thread. No need to make ominous remarks. Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 03:54:57
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
He's not making a remark, Motyak is a mod and he's explaining why the last thread was closed. The red text is par for the course, not because he's trying to intimidate you.
We don't revive threads past a month old because there's literally thousands of them, and it would blow the site if they kept coming back. Please don't rag on him for doing his job.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 04:59:54
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Yarium wrote:No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
Sorry Yarium, but the Black Staff actually got an amendment (I don't know what the difference between an amendment and an errata is...) in the existing Chaos Space Marine FAQ (not the draft that's floating about). Can be found here.
Page 60 - The Black Staff of Ahriman, rules
The second sentence should be replaced with:
'It allows Ahriman to attempt to manifest the same witchfire power up to three times per Psychic phase'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 08:09:45
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Quanar wrote: Yarium wrote:No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
Sorry Yarium, but the Black Staff actually got an amendment (I don't know what the difference between an amendment and an errata is...) in the existing Chaos Space Marine FAQ (not the draft that's floating about). Can be found here.
Page 60 - The Black Staff of Ahriman, rules
The second sentence should be replaced with:
'It allows Ahriman to attempt to manifest the same witchfire power up to three times per Psychic phase'.
Wonderful. He's suddenly worth the points. Thank you very much for posting the source!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 10:53:31
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ProsperinePhoenix wrote: Quanar wrote: Yarium wrote:No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
Sorry Yarium, but the Black Staff actually got an amendment (I don't know what the difference between an amendment and an errata is...) in the existing Chaos Space Marine FAQ (not the draft that's floating about). Can be found here.
Page 60 - The Black Staff of Ahriman, rules
The second sentence should be replaced with:
'It allows Ahriman to attempt to manifest the same witchfire power up to three times per Psychic phase'.
Wonderful. He's suddenly worth the points. Thank you very much for posting the source!
Do note that because of the recent FAQ draft, psykers will only be allowed to cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level. So Ahriman could cast the same power thrice but will only be able to cast one other power.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/05 10:54:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 19:54:24
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
DaPino wrote:Do note that because of the recent FAQ draft, psykers will only be allowed to cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level. So Ahriman could cast the same power thrice but will only be able to cast one other power.
Would you happen to have a link to that FAQ draft, by chance? I only know how to find them if they come up right in front of me on the GW Facebook page.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/05 19:55:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/05 20:43:33
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
ProsperinePhoenix wrote:Would you happen to have a link to that FAQ draft, by chance? I only know how to find them if they come up right in front of me on the GW Facebook page. Linky
Q: Is the maximum number of powers a Psyker can use in their turn equal to their Mastery Level, or the number of powers they have (due to Psychic Focus they often have one more power than their Mastery Level)?
A: Unless explicitly permitted to do so, Psykers may not attempt to manifest more psychic powers than the number of their Mastery Level within a single Psychic phase.
The rest of the draft FAQ's can be found by following the links in this thread.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/05 20:44:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/06 11:57:06
Subject: Chaos Artefact - Black Staff of Ahriman ? (7th Edition)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Quanar wrote: Yarium wrote:No, he cannot cast three of the same power each turn. Yes, this means there's no real extra point to the artefact (aside from its Strength modifier, which is considerable). Shrug. We'll have to wait until they release new Ahriman rules, but nothing in his current rules over-rides this.
Sorry Yarium, but the Black Staff actually got an amendment (I don't know what the difference between an amendment and an errata is...) in the existing Chaos Space Marine FAQ (not the draft that's floating about). Can be found here.
Page 60 - The Black Staff of Ahriman, rules
The second sentence should be replaced with:
'It allows Ahriman to attempt to manifest the same witchfire power up to three times per Psychic phase'.
Thanks Quanar! I was sure the FAQ didn't say that, but this proves (as it always does) to always double-check!
|
|
 |
 |
|