Switch Theme:

Unit/Model on the table at start of turn requirement?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






I misremembering something, but is there a rule that says a units special rule or ability only functions if the unit is on the table at the start of the turn? For example, The Pinion Company allows scout sergeants to grant ignores cover. They also can lead units in an outflanking move. If the scouts and the attached unit outflank, can the sergeant give his Ignores cover ability to the attached unit? I saw an argument that says special rules like that requires the unit being on the table already at the start of the turn. Thanks!

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






It is dependent on the individual rules.

This one in particular says nothing about being on table at the start of your turn, and in fact isn't even used until your shooting phase. So, yes, you may use it the turn you outflank in.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

What Kel said.

For example the Space Marine locator beacon states, "The locator beacon must have been on the battlefield at the start of the turn in order for it to be used."
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I believe he's referring to this tidbit from 'Moving On From Reserve' (pg. 136, main rulebook):

A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve.

GW seems to ignore this rule willy-nilly, so its hard to say when it applies at times.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: