Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 17:05:40
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
In a game I am playing I got the result "punished by the gods" on the warpstorm table, my daemon prince had to take daemonic instability on a 3d6. His results were: 6,6,2. A rule of daemonic instability is that a double 6 means the whole unit is removed, is this the case when it is rolled on a 3d6?
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 17:22:15
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
It's not a double 6, its a 6,6, and 2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 17:30:17
Subject: Re:Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
If you'd rolled three sixes, would you claim that it's not a double 6, because it's really a triple 6?
All the dice are not sixes, but there are certainly two sixes within the roll, which means it's a double.
Would I personally be arguing it too hard? (HIWPI) I'd probably let it slide. The DP is taking at least three wounds, and it's not any fun having models completely removed from play by a random table.
I would have compared it to Perils of the Warp, but that has different wording ("two or more sixes").
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 17:36:03
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
CrownAxe, if I take a Psychic test and roll 3 dice, getting 6, 6, 2; did I roll double 6's?
If so, how is that different then the OP's scenario?
Regardless, I would play it you only suffer the unit loss on three 6's, since as Quanar pointed out, it's at least 3 wounds regardless.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 18:02:52
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Perils says 2 or more 6s. Daemonic Instabilty specifies double 6s
Those are differect
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 18:26:39
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
CrownAxe wrote:Perils says 2 or more 6s. Daemonic Instabilty specifies double 6s
Those are differect
I apologize, I thought it was double 6's, not two or more 6's.
In that case allow me to amend my question.
My Farseer attempts to cast Banishment and rolls 6, 4, 4 for his psychic test. Does he perils because of the double 4, or can I claim I rolled 6, 4, ,4 which is not double 4?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 18:31:15
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Yes because it says if the test includes any double. a roll of 6,4,4 includes a double in the test Daemonic Instability needs to the to be a double 6 specifically.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/11 18:31:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 22:06:58
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
In the spirit of the rules, I would say he gets banished. Despite any word-limbo-ing you wanna do, "double 6" in regular English just means you have two sixes as a result. It's like that whole "Line of sight" vs "Visbility" argument back in 5th edition where they're only different on a semantics level. And it's not like there haven't been precedents where GW has had different wordings which were suppose to mean the same thing due to different writers (an example would be the old Nemesis Force Falchions)
As for how I would play it, I would just let you take the wounds because:
1.) any result of 2 6's would mean a regular daemon prince is dead anyways (three dice means 2 6's would result in a minimum of 13, which would still kill the DP as his leadership is 9 and thus would suffer 4 wounds with no saves of any kind allowed).
2.) even if he does survive due to something else, he's pretty much one cherry-tap away from death anyhow. Anything other than a Greater Daemon in this situation would be flat out dead anyways even with some kind of buff.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/12 15:30:02
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote:Yes because it says if the test includes any double. a roll of 6,4,4 includes a double in the test
Daemonic Instability needs to the to be a double 6 specifically.
So, "Punished By the Gods" actually inflicts no punishment? Since you're rolling 3 dice, the exrapolation of what you say is that you could never have a double six. If you roll 3 sixes, that's a triple six, not a double six. And, if you aren't counting double sixes with another number, then you can't ever roll double sixes and therefore would never be banished. Kind of a lenient punishment, don't you think? Given that, it seems pretty obvious that they're counting 2 sixes in 3 dice as double sixes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/12 15:32:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/12 15:34:30
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
doctortom wrote: CrownAxe wrote:Yes because it says if the test includes any double. a roll of 6,4,4 includes a double in the test
Daemonic Instability needs to the to be a double 6 specifically.
So, "Punished By the Gods" actually inflicts no punishment? Since you're rolling 3 dice, the exrapolation of what you say is that you could never have a double six. If you roll 3 sixes, that's a triple six, not a double six. And, if you aren't counting double sixes with another number, then you can't ever roll double sixes and therefore would never be banished. Kind of a lenient punishment, don't you think? Given that, it seems pretty obvious that they're counting 2 sixes in 3 dice as double sixes.
Daemonic Instability is normally a 2d6 Ld test so of course it works normally in the intended situations. The OP is asking about the Warp Storm '3' result which is a special case where you take a Ld test on 3d6 instead of 2d6
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/12 15:49:40
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote: doctortom wrote: CrownAxe wrote:Yes because it says if the test includes any double. a roll of 6,4,4 includes a double in the test
Daemonic Instability needs to the to be a double 6 specifically.
So, "Punished By the Gods" actually inflicts no punishment? Since you're rolling 3 dice, the exrapolation of what you say is that you could never have a double six. If you roll 3 sixes, that's a triple six, not a double six. And, if you aren't counting double sixes with another number, then you can't ever roll double sixes and therefore would never be banished. Kind of a lenient punishment, don't you think? Given that, it seems pretty obvious that they're counting 2 sixes in 3 dice as double sixes.
Daemonic Instability is normally a 2d6 Ld test so of course it works normally in the intended situations. The OP is asking about the Warp Storm '3' result which is a special case where you take a Ld test on 3d6 instead of 2d6
Which still means that from what you say, you would never suffer because according to you, you can't roll double sixes on three dice. Since those tests are supposed to be making things worse, having it eliminate the possibility of a fail seems rather bizarre.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/12 16:08:32
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
doctortom wrote: CrownAxe wrote: doctortom wrote: CrownAxe wrote:Yes because it says if the test includes any double. a roll of 6,4,4 includes a double in the test
Daemonic Instability needs to the to be a double 6 specifically.
So, "Punished By the Gods" actually inflicts no punishment? Since you're rolling 3 dice, the exrapolation of what you say is that you could never have a double six. If you roll 3 sixes, that's a triple six, not a double six. And, if you aren't counting double sixes with another number, then you can't ever roll double sixes and therefore would never be banished. Kind of a lenient punishment, don't you think? Given that, it seems pretty obvious that they're counting 2 sixes in 3 dice as double sixes.
Daemonic Instability is normally a 2d6 Ld test so of course it works normally in the intended situations. The OP is asking about the Warp Storm '3' result which is a special case where you take a Ld test on 3d6 instead of 2d6
Which still means that from what you say, you would never suffer because according to you, you can't roll double sixes on three dice. Since those tests are supposed to be making things worse, having it eliminate the possibility of a fail seems rather bizarre.
You don't only die on double 6's. Daemonic Instability causes wounds (with no saves allowed) equal to the difference you failed the Ld test by. If you rolled two 6s, then the lowest number you can roll is a 13 (6,6,1) which is still dealing 4 no saves wounds since Daemons only have at max Ld9. The daemon in question still dies anyway. It is only a difference if the daemon in question happens to have FNP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 11:40:07
Subject: Re:Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If you roll 2 sixes, reguardless of how many dice then they are considered 'double' sixes. Even if for some impossible reason you rolled 6 dice and you got a 2, 2, 4, 5, 6, 6. You just rolled 2 sixes, also known as double sixes. Jesus christ the rule lawering is crazy, just accept that your damn character is dead.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 14:44:42
Subject: Re:Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
Reavas wrote:If you roll 2 sixes, reguardless of how many dice then they are considered 'double' sixes. Even if for some impossible reason you rolled 6 dice and you got a 2, 2, 4, 5, 6, 6. You just rolled 2 sixes, also known as double sixes. Jesus christ the rule lawering is crazy, just accept that your damn character is dead.
I thought it would be, my opponant was the one who pointed out that it might not count for 3d6. Regardless I removed the Nurgle prince of my tetrad :(
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 15:08:30
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Well, to be fair, the minimum roll that includes double 6s is 6 6 1, or 13. A daemon prince is Ld. 9. Therefore, no matter what, He is taking 4 wounds (and they only start with 4). But, with FNP being possible, as well as this being a character with more than 4 wounds, its a legitimate question. I would personally say that any double 6s is the bad result and he gets returned to the Warp kicking and screaming.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 15:19:28
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Just to throw this in there; the Tervigon says that it stops producing Termagaunts on "any double", but you roll 3d6. CrownAxe, are you truly saying that it's impossible for the Tervigon to every stop spawning Termagaunts? Because, by your argument, it can't ever roll a double, because there's 3 dice involved, and even if it rolls a triple, that's still not a double.
I'm 100% positive that GW takes "double 6's" or "any double" to mean "any two dice that have the same numeric value in a given dice roll", unless it specifically states otherwise. Thus, a 6,6,1 is a double six and the Daemon Prince is removed as a casualty regardless of FNP.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 15:31:34
Subject: Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
Getting to roll 3d6 instead of 2d6 was a curse for Farseers in older codexes. Any matched roll would cause problems, and the odds of that were far higher than a 2d6.
I cannot see that this has changed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/13 23:20:40
Subject: Re:Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
mrhappyface wrote:Reavas wrote:If you roll 2 sixes, reguardless of how many dice then they are considered 'double' sixes. Even if for some impossible reason you rolled 6 dice and you got a 2, 2, 4, 5, 6, 6. You just rolled 2 sixes, also known as double sixes. Jesus christ the rule lawering is crazy, just accept that your damn character is dead.
I thought it would be, my opponant was the one who pointed out that it might not count for 3d6. Regardless I removed the Nurgle prince of my tetrad :(
Straightforwardness is good in games, Im sure your opponent appreciated the honesty
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/16 23:03:30
Subject: Re:Daemonic instability double 6 on a 3d6
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
As Yarium said above, I would directly compare this to the Tyranid Tervigon. Rolls 3D6 for spawning and stops, "if any double is rolled."
|
|
 |
 |
|