Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 14:13:31
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
I can't find on any of the datasheets in the codex where Land Raiders are listed as an option for a Dedicated Transport even though the Land Raiders appear as transports in the codex. Only Rhinos, Razorbacks, Corvus Blackstars, and Drop Pods are all listed as dedicated transports. Does this mean that if I want to use a Land Raider Crusader to transport my Kill Team, I'll have to use my first turn loading them onto the Land Raider?
Thanks in advance
SG
|
40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers
*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 14:15:04
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Youre making a common mistake
You can start ANY unit* embarked on a non-dedicated transport
If the transport is dedicated, ONLY the unit that bought it (plus ICs) may start embarked
*from the same faction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 15:19:56
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Youre making a common mistake You can start ANY unit* embarked on a non-dedicated transport If the transport is dedicated, ONLY the unit that bought it (plus ICs) may start embarked *from the same faction.
OK, so here's my issue. Let's say I want to put together a Malleus Kill Team. I choose 5 x Deathwatch Terminators and 5 x Deathwatch Veterans. There's nothing in the Formation Datasheet that lists what Dedicated Transports they can use (except that the Veterans can use Drop Pods, Rhinos, Razorbacks, and Corvus Blackstars) but it does mention that it can use them in the Restrictions area. So, how do I know what can and can't be used as a Dedicated Transport for that Formation? A Land Raider Crusader could carry all 10 of them without an issue. Can it be used? Or, are the Terminators in that formation restricted to being foot sloggers? Thanks SG
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/09/26 15:28:05
40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers
*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 15:31:23
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
OK, you didnt read what I said there.
The terminators cannot take a landraider as a dedicated transport, because their datasheeet does not state they can. As you are taking a formation without the option to purchase landraiders, you cannot take a landraider without taking say a CAD or other detachment which allows you to take a landraider.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:23:13
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:OK, you didnt read what I said there.
The terminators cannot take a landraider as a dedicated transport, because their datasheeet does not state they can. As you are taking a formation without the option to purchase landraiders, you cannot take a landraider without taking say a CAD or other detachment which allows you to take a landraider.
So, that said, currently, there is no way to bring in Formation-based Deathwatch Terminators except by foot slogging or teleportation? So, Assault/Close Combat Terminators are either walking A LONG way or waiting to Deep Strike?
SG
|
40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers
*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:44:07
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you have another Deathwatch detachment that has a Land Raider in it, you can put those Termies in that land Raider (since they're the same faction)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 18:23:39
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
doctortom wrote:If you have another Deathwatch detachment that has a Land Raider in it, you can put those Termies in that land Raider (since they're the same faction)
To the best of my knowledge, as of this moment, there aren't any Formations or Detatchments that include the possibility of a Land Raider as a transport. I could be wrong on this one, but a quick flip through the codex isn't showing any Formations that allow Land Raiders as dedicated transports for any Deathwatch Formation. I'm kinda bummed by that. I mean, I didn't buy a Deathwatch Land Raider just to use it in an army, but I have one that I've assembled and primed but haven't yet painted that I wanted to use in my deathwatch army. But, besides a CAD, I don't really see a way of making it happen. And, the Formations have some very tempting special rules. SG
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/26 18:24:43
40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers
*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 19:02:06
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you want it that much then, you'll have to go CAD and pay the HQ+2 troops tax. But then, you can take more than 1 Land Raider (if you have the points) and can have that to load up your termies from the formation in (again, if you have the points).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 19:14:13
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
doctortom wrote:If you want it that much then, you'll have to go CAD and pay the HQ+2 troops tax. But then, you can take more than 1 Land Raider (if you have the points) and can have that to load up your termies from the formation in (again, if you have the points).
Alternatively take a 25 point Inquisitor as your Warlord, and an Allied Detachment of Deathwatch.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 20:26:12
Subject: Can Land Raiders be used as Dedicated Transports for Deathwatch?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If you're willing to add one character or dreadnought as command you can use your Malleus as the core and the Land Raider as the support for a Black Spear.
|
|
 |
 |
|