Switch Theme:

Within  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




I don't want to abuse rules because I interpret them incorrectly (in my favour) but considering the power of some armies out there I'd prefer not to hamstring myself either.

PM: you might notice I play Sylvaneth:

In each of the following cases does within mean
A: Whole unit should be completely within the stated range (all models completely inside the range)
B: All models should at least have the tip of the model in range (when measuring distance only a part of the model needs to be within the stated range).
C: At least one model completely within the range (allowing stringing the rest of the unit all over the table).
D: At least one model with a tip in the range (allowing stringing the rest of the unit all over the table).

1: Battletrait: Forest spirits: .... set up all models within 3" of wildwood
- So obviously not C/D since ALL models is explicity stated... but is it A or B?

2. Battletrait: Navigate Realmroots: If a Sylventh unit is within 3" of a Wildwood etc
- I just don't know, I think GW usually means a unit is within range if only part of a model is in the range.. however this would mean I could string 30 dryads all over the table and just keep one next to the wood...

3. Dryads' Blessing of the forest: Substrat 1 from all hit rolls against this unit if within 3" of a wildwood
- Similar to the one above but asking explicitly since it's a powerful ability worth losing 1-2 attacking models for just to keep it.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle






1 - B
2 - C
3 - D

Though worth note that the latter two cases are not nearly as useful in practice as they are on paper.

Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page

I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.

I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu




Southern California

Whether a model is fully within the range stated or just a portion of the model is within range is irrelevant. If the rule states a model is within 3" blah blah... As long as any portion of the model (my group uses base not model) then they get the full effect.

I do this all the time. In my Khorne army, I use the bloodsecrator to buff my bloodletters. He gives +1 attack to a units within 18". I make sure to leave a string or trail to the secrator of the letters are moving up the board to get into range. Obviously pile ins can screw this up so you have to watch.

But the point is.. The models never have to be FULLY engulfed within the 3" to get benefits.. (Or downfalls with rebuffs from enemy!)
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




Hmm ok seems that the things all fall out in favour of the Sylvaneth (me.. yay).
Considering the raw strength of some armies I think we can use it though.
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: