Switch Theme:

RP and re-rolling  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Hi,

Quick question - on using the Mephrit Dynasty formation, and reanimation orbs.

Formation rule - RP rolls of a 1 can be re-rolls.
Orb: immediatelyafter an unsuccessful RP roll for bearer or member of unit, you can re-roll the failed roll.

Sooo...

Does this mean I can effectively roll up to four times?

Roll 1- Need a five plus, roll a 1.
Reroll the 1 due to formation rule. Roll a 3.

I now have an unsuccessful RP roll, pop my orb:

Roll another 1.
Re-roll, due to formation rule: finally roll a six.

My question is: is the second set of rolls, using the orb, the same rolled dice as before, therefore can only be re-rolled once, or is it the same roll, in which case the second set never get used?

Thanks,

Ff

15k+
3k+
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

According to the BRB, you can never reroll a die more than once. So no.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From 'Re-roll' (pg. 11, main rulebook):

... no single dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 Ghaz wrote:
From 'Re-roll' (pg. 11, main rulebook):

... no single dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll.


Thanks for finding the page number for me.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




 Ghaz wrote:
From 'Re-roll' (pg. 11, main rulebook):

... no single dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll.


I absolutely get that. I am asking if it is the same 'single dice'. Effectively the orb makes a pile of all unsuccessful rolls and allows you to reroll them. So presumably it allows the unsuccessful rolls of a 2,3,4 but not the 1 that was rerolled? Doesn't quite seem logical to me, that's all. But hey, I don't make the game!

Thank you!

15k+
3k+
 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Ffyllotek wrote:
Effectively the orb makes a pile of all unsuccessful rolls and allows you to reroll them.
That's not how it works. You don't roll saves in groups. Strictly by the rules, you roll one save at a time and fully resolve it before moving on to the next. The orb doesn't make a pile of unsuccessful rolls, it is used upon a single unsuccessful roll, and then proactively works for the rest of the single unsuccessful rolls that phase, as they are failed. Whether those single unsuccessful rolls are re-rolled using the detachment rule or the resurrection orb rule makes no difference because of the rule mentioned above. The reason you see people roll multiple saves at once is because in most circumstances it makes no difference which dice pass or fail, the outcome would be the same and rolling several at once speeds the game up.

A similar scenario would be a unit firing a twin-linked weapon while prescience has been cast on them. They only re-roll a failed 'to hit' roll once, despite having two effects that allow re-rolls of misses. This isn't based in logic, it's based on game balance to prevent people from stacking re-roll effects to all-but guarantee an outcome.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: