Switch Theme:

Deathwatch Frag Cannon - "Impact" Special Rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




The Deathwatch frag cannon has a profile that is 24" S7 AP3 Assault 2 Impact, with Impact being a special rule defined right below it as
If the target unit is within 12", this weapon's Strength is increased to 9 and its AP is increased to 2.


I played a game yesterday where I had a unit of 4 frag cannons firing at a soul grinder. 3 of the frag cannon models were within 12" and the 4th was about 13" away. How would this resolve? Would all 4 fire at S9 AP2, would I need to fire 3 of them separately from the 4th (even though it's not using a different shooting profile because it's a special rule)?

I haven't seen another rule like this, but is there a precedent, or is there maybe something I'm missing in the BRB that outlines a situation like this? I ended up playing it the second way above, giving the benefit of the doubt to my opponent because I wasn't sure and couldn't off the top of my head think of anything that might prove it wrong other than it not being different shooting profiles, and that might not even prove it wrong as far as I know, it just seemed strange. Did I play it correctly?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The models that are not within the range do not fire at higher strength. For the same reason that if you had three models in weapon range your fourth model would not get to shoot.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




So resolving the different strength shots separately was correct?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The 4th one isn't benefiting from Impact because it's out of range and will have to be resolved separately

And yes it is a different shooting profile, special rules do affect those.
   
Made in ca
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought





Canada

You resolve each weapon separately it is not like a blast template volley.
No different than for the melta-weapon rule for armor penetration.
The weapon in this case does have a different profile when it is within 12" of it's target (or greater than).

A revolution is an idea which has found its bayonets.
Napoleon Bonaparte 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




Okay cool, thanks guys!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 CrownAxe wrote:

And yes it is a different shooting profile, special rules do affect those.

My ignorance of this is what confused me

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/03 15:47:28


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: