Switch Theme:

Dawn Blade Contingent - Farsight joining a Crisis Squad from the Retaliation Cadre  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Germany

Greetings!


So i know an independent character can join formations. The Core Formation for a Dawn Blade Contingent is the Retaliation Cadre (3 squads Crisis Suits, Commander, Riptide, Broadsides). This formation can deep strike as a whole automatically in turn2.

If i take the Command choice of the DBC, being Farsight...i can, theoretically, join him to one of the Crisis squads from the Core formation. The thing is: does he deep strike automatically with them, or would i have to roll extra for him while the rest drops? (I know he would not get the Formation buffs as a whole, like the added BS and stuff - this is purely about the deep striking). And second: would that squad benefit from his warlord trait? Meaning, they would not scatter?


This is a tad confusing, so i appreciate your insight on this matter.

Thank you, and have a nice day =)

Mischief. Mayhem. Soap. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

If you're playing using the draft FAQ, it specifically addresses a similar situation:

"Q: If I’m using a special Detachment, such as the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment, and add
Independent Characters from Battle Brother Factions (e.g. the Librarius Conclave), can they all still
benefit from the first turn deployment and come in together?

A: No, the rules for Detachments and Formations only apply to models/units that are part of the
Detachment or Formation."


If you're not using the draft FAQ it's probably still an indication of how the rules were intended.

If you're using the rules as written without regard to the draft FAQ or considering probable RAI then Farsight joined to a Crisis Battlesuit unit from the Retaliation Cadre would count as part of that Crisis Battlesuit unit from the Retaliation Cadre for all rules purposes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/08 11:16:09


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Cobleskill

They are all part of the DBC, so you are fine joining them.

Have you considered dropping him with the broadsides instead?

'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
Racerguy180 wrote:
rules come and go, models are forever...like herpes.
 
   
Made in de
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Germany

@carldooley
Yes, that he CAN join is right, my question was if he then also arrives automatically with them in turn 2 if i use the FORMATION (not detachment!) specific rule "low altitude deployment". Since Farsight is NOT part of that specific formation within the detachment, it should be like the FAQ above states: he can not use this, meaning, if i want him to join one of the squads i have to deep strike them without that rule. He would not get the rule "drop zone clear" either, which is the other foramtion specific speacial rule.


This is a really trickery thing. But thank you for that FAQ, Mr. Sunshine! I will have to talk about that with my gaming guys....maybe we will hosuerule that. It is dumb that you cant do that. Why would you bring Farsight then?

Mischief. Mayhem. Soap. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: