Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 00:39:30
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
For those who don't know the rules genestealer cult come from reserves and infiltrate using a table, 1 being normal deployment, 2 being outflank and 2 to 6 being varying degrees of infiltration closeness. A 5 let's you shoot twice and a six means you can assault the turn you arrive from ongoing reserves or infiltrate set up 3 inches from an enemy.
The subterranean uprising formation allows the units in the formation to roll two dice instead of one and if they are joined by a primus (basically a captain) from that formation that unit can roll 3 dice and pick which one they want.
My question is if I join other characters to that unit before the game starts such as a magus or patriarch does the whole unit still get to roll 3d6, that is do added models to the unit in this formation get this particular formation benefit or will I only be able to roll 1d6 if I add outside the formation models to this unit.
Thanks let me know if I wasn't clear enough on anything
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 02:03:10
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Can Space marine drop pod type formations have IC attached to the units at deployment? and still get their benefit?
I feel that will likely be the closest comparison for a ruling
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 02:35:45
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
afaik models in units that are outside of that formation do not get formation benefits
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 03:55:35
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
All being said though...
It is worded so that a they would still get the benefit if a Primus from out of the unit joins them (well they get 3d6)
So may well be a case that they still get 2d6 even if you chuck in a Patriarch or Magus (or all of them)
That being said really nasty sudo death star, that formation (with Primus) with multiple cads with Patriarchs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 04:49:15
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think if you add a character to a unit within a formation that he himself is not from that certain rules of that formation will be invalidated.
For instance I believe it was FAQd (I could be wrong so please correct me if I am) that if say you try to add a captain to a unit of assault marines in the Skyhammer that he would invalidate the ability of that assault squad to arrive turn 1 and assault out of reserves because he personally does not have permission to do so.
If you add a magus to a unit in the uprising I think that they would be limited to using just one dice as the unit now has a model in it that does not have permission to roll two dice for his cult ambush. If all models in the unit do not have permission to perform actions like that then none can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 16:25:40
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The problem here is this formation does not require it's primus (which is a 0-1 optional) to get the bonus. It's any unit from that formation with A primus. In a cad you could grab several primus and attach them to different units in the formation to get them all rolling 3 dice.
I think outside ic attached to units wont effect it.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/11 16:50:54
Subject: Genestealer cult subterranean uprising
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It depends on how the rule is worded, it has to specify it affects any attached ICs or all models in the formation, or as the draft faqs seem to indicate the ICs attached cannot benefit.
|
|
 |
 |
|