Switch Theme:

Chaos Boon Reroll  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Basically a sorceror got the multi boon and got 1+ attack but due to his warlord trait, rerolled and got dark apothesis. The BRB says you can't reroll a reroll so does it count?
   
Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List




If you are referring to the 10 point Gift of Mutation, then yes you still need to re roll. I believe it specifically says "discarding any Dark Apothesis or Spawn results."
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Not sure I understand completely, but from what I get you rolled multi boons and then you rerolled one of those multiple rolls? Those additional rolls are independent rolls, you can reroll those just fine.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Yes it was D3+1 boons which he rolled +1 attack rerolled because of the warlord trait and rolled 66.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






The multi boons isn't a re-roll. You rolled the boon: multiple boons. The effect of which is to roll an additional d3+1 times on the boon table. So Warp Frenzy was it's own individual roll which hadn't been re-rolled yet.

In fact you can't get mutliple boons...multiple times precisely because it is a boon in and of itself. You don't re-roll either if you happen to get it again. It simply has no effect then and is a wasted roll unless you can re-roll like through the warlord trait for example.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/13 17:52:28


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





I don't think I've worded this well but this was what happened:
Sorceror kills character
Gets his boon roll
Rolls 64 Multiple Rewards and rolls a 2 getting 3 boon rolls
He rolls 23 Warp Frenzy
Rerolls Warp Frenzy because of the warlord trait Exalted Champion
He then gets Dark Apothesis from the reroll but Multiple Rewards states you must reroll Spawnhood and Dark Apothesis so does he reroll?
Hope this helps claify my question.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You must reroll Spawnhood or Dark Apotheosis because it tells you to, even if it was a reroll that got you that result, as you are not allowed to have that result. You could roll Dark Apotheosis 10 times in a roll and would have to keep rolling again until you got a result that the Sorcerer is allowed to have. This would be an exception to the not re-rolling rerolls, something that tells you you must reroll certain results.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






doctortom is correct. You just keep rolling in that case. As far as multiple boons is concerned, dark apotheosis and spawnhood just don't exist, so you roll until you get a valid result.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I'd say you must keep dark apotheosis as I say "re-roll", as opposed to Gift of Mutation which says "Roll again", and you can never re-roll a re-roll.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





And you can't have Dark Apotheosis or Spawn, so by saying you can't reroll it you lock the game up in an error loop keeping the game from continuing.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Multi-boon doesn't say you can't have it, it says to re-roll it, just like preferred enemy says re-roll ones, if you roll a one again you don't keep re-rolling, so why is this any different?
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

I think this is one of those examples where GW expects you to keep rolling, even though it goes against the never reroll a reroll rule.

I think the simplest thing to do is just accept the result if you get it as a result of reroll.

The difficult thing is if you roll spawn/dp twice in a row with a gift of mutation roll; how does that work?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can't use one rule to break another.
Either you keep rerolling, which is how you deal with illegal results in a table of results,
or you get nothing.

There is no way of justifying getting an illegal option.

DFTT 
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

By your own logic you can't keep rerolling as that is using one rule to break another, isn't it?
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




nareik wrote:
By your own logic you can't keep rerolling as that is using one rule to break another, isn't it?


It's more using the codex rule to trump the brb rule, as the brb tells us to. Similar to Tau warlord traits that tell you to reroll them if your warlord doesn't meet the criteria to make use of them. If your warlord can't deep strike, and you keep rolling a 6 for your trait, you keep rerolling it.

You say "Oh I got Dark Apotheothis, I must reroll it as it is not a valid result! Uh oh, I got Dark Apotheothis again! Guess I got a Daemon Prince now!" Nope. It's still not a valid result. You either reroll it again or simply forfeit the roll because you are explicitly disallowed from getting that result. By the way, the reroll would be what you're supposed to do, but the forfeiture of the roll in its entirety is the only thing I would allow you to do if you said "Welp I can only reroll that once" and tried to insist that was the case here.
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

So a codex item of wargear that allows you to re-roll failed To Hit rolls of 1 guarantees a model with BS5 or higher's ability to hit?
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

It doesn't say Dark Apotheosis isn't valid. It just says reroll it. For all we know, GW might have considered the never reroll a reroll rule and as such simply wanted these results to be even rarer when not gained by killing characters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/19 01:45:54


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

I think some reference to what the rules actually say might be helpful:

'The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first, and no single dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll."

It says fairly explicitly "regardless of the source of the re-roll". For a codex rule to actually conflict with this to override it, it would presumably have to make some specific reference to being allowed to always re-roll, including results already re-rolled.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Mr. Shine wrote:
I think some reference to what the rules actually say might be helpful:

'The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first, and no single dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll."

It says fairly explicitly "regardless of the source of the re-roll". For a codex rule to actually conflict with this to override it, it would presumably have to make some specific reference to being allowed to always re-roll, including results already re-rolled.

Such as rolling Psychic Powers?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






nareik wrote:
It doesn't say Dark Apotheosis isn't valid. It just says reroll it. For all we know, GW might have considered the never reroll a reroll rule and as such simply wanted these results to be even rarer when not gained by killing characters.


I suppose you're right. It feels wrong to me though.
In addition, gift of mutations says to not apply either and to roll again. They could have copy pasted that but they didn't.
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

Hmm, well it sounds like GoM is: Don't apply -> reroll -> Don't apply (can't reroll). End result: Don't apply.

I think this makes sense; as I pointed out how to create the spawn/dp would be a little tricky to process at the time GoM occurs.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






It says roll again, not re-roll. Which to me indicates you are rolling a "fresh" d66. So not only do you not apply it if you do get it, you then roll again as in you get to try again.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Roknar wrote:
It says roll again, not re-roll. Which to me indicates you are rolling a "fresh" d66. So not only do you not apply it if you do get it, you then roll again as in you get to try again.

The Exalted Champion Warlord Trait and the Multiple Rewards Chaos Boon both specifically say "re-roll". What are you saying says to "roll again"?
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Gift of mutation, as in the wargear option.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener



Virginia

Here's an even more straightforward version of the same issue: what happens if you get multiple boons, then roll 66, 66? Do you keep the second result or re-roll again? It seems to me that RAW, the never-reroll-a-reroll rules applies and you keep the second result.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: