Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 17:29:58
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Relevant Rule: Meticulous Planner "If a unit from this Formation has been joined by a Primus, you can roll three dice instead of one when rolling on the Cult Ambush table for this unit, and select any one of the results."
Does this apply to primuses that join from, say, a CAD for example?
Potentially relevant GW FAQ:
"Q: If I’m using a special Detachment, such as the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment, and add Independent Characters from Battle Brother Factions (e.g. the Librarius Conclave), can they all still benefit from the first turn deployment and come in together?
A: No, the rules for Detachments and Formations only apply to models/units that are part of the Detachment or Formation."
"Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation command benefits (e.g. the Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unit-wide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii apply to any attached Independent Characters?
A: No."
I know that the FAQ's are technically still in draft state, but I would like to go off of them with the assumption that they will keep those same answers when they do go final.
My thinking is that the meticulous planner rule applies only to the unit, meaning that they simply check if a primus is in the unit and if he is, then they can roll 3d6, regardless of where the primus came from, because the primus isn't gaining and special rule. He's allowing the unit to gain a special rule, and that unit is from the formation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 17:44:12
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Even though I would love it to be otherwise, I believe (especially with the relevant FAQ things you quoted) that this was a mistake, and it is meant to apply only to the units in the formation. HOWEVER, RAW at the moment it applies to any primus, so until it is FAQ'ed or circuit ruled (ITC for me) any primus can give it to them
|
Armies I play:
-5000 pts
-2500 pts
Mechanicus -1850 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 17:47:18
Subject: Re:Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Already discussed just a bit further down this forum:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/705059.page
However, as you can see there, no real consent has been achieved. By the wording given, any Primus will give you this bonus. However, GW has been pretty straight-forward in their FAQ's; they only want models in a formation to benefit from the formation. I think that it was GW's intention here for only the Primus from this formation to grant the bonus. GW probably failed to consider that you can have Primuses from other CAD's in addition to your Cult Uprising Detachment's Primus, and so thought you'd only ever have a single Primus (because fluff).
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 17:52:11
Subject: Re:Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Virginia
|
RAW, it clearly applies if a non-formation Primus joins a Subterranean Uprising unit. The rule says "a" Primus, not "the" Primus or "the Primus from this formation."
I also don't think it was a mistake. If you look at the Doting Throng, it also says "a" Magus. Moreover, the Frenzied Devotion special rule in that formation refers to "a friendly Magus," which makes pretty clear it is supposed to work for non-formation Magi. I see no reason to assume the writers intended something different for the Subterranean Uprising.
And I agree with your analysis: the Primus joining the squad isn't changing any of the Primus's rules; it's conferring a new rule on the squad. Because of that, the FAQs you quoted aren't relevant.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 18:08:57
Subject: Re:Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You know what? I'm going to reverse my position on this, because of something I was just thinking on.
I still think it was GW's intention that you only have 1 of each of the Cult's HQ units; the Patriarch, the Primus, and the Magus. It's very clearly written in their decurion-style detachment that you can only have one of each. As such, I think it WILL work, even with an out-of-formation Magus or Primus, because the idea is that you might take a Magus or a Primus as part of a different formation in the decurion, but they still want you to have the benefit of this formation helping them out. The offshoot of this would be that any CAD Primus/Magus on top of this could also benefit.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/17 23:48:48
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Yeah it is intended for primus or magus (for dotting throng) from outside the formation can be used for the bonus, as the insurrection formation can only take one of each
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/18 00:39:19
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I do not think it works because the ability to role 3d6 when joined by a primus is conferred by a formation special rule. Formation special rules only apply to units in that formation. If you take an outside primus and put him in a squad inside of the formation that unit (not including the primus) would have permission to then roll 3d6 for cult ambush as they meet the requirements listed in formation rules (Being joined by A Primus).
However the primus who joined the unit still only has permission roll 1d6 for his cult ambush as he is not part of the formation thus does not receive the bonuses for being in it. While the unit he is in has permission to roll 3d6 he himself does not. I would then argue because one model in that unit cannot legally perform a 3d6 roll that the entire unit would not be able to do it. The outside Primus invalidates the 3d6 (or even 2d6) roll the unit inside the formation would normally get. I think he denies them the ability to perform the 3d6 action because it is a form of setting up a unit. If one model cant complete a set up or deploy action in a unit then the whole unit cannot do it (Such as deep striking or infiltrating).
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/10/18 00:42:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/18 14:27:39
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Here's hoping we get an FAQ on GSC soon.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/18 14:41:08
Subject: Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Yeah, nothing like making things more confusing and contradictory to clear up an issue.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 07:37:19
Subject: Re:Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 07:51:17
Subject: Re:Gene stealer Cult Subterranean Uprising and Outside Primuses
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
zamerion wrote:https://www.games-workshop.com/en-GB/blog/blog.jsp
Interesting... they use 2 primus.
GW blog posts probably aren't the best place for rule answers, I mean just look at there battle reports
|
|
|
 |
 |
|