Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 09:12:37
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Hi, just a really quick question as I'm taking a guard blob with a small allied lib conclave to a tourney tomorrow. Can the librarians allow the blob to hit and run? I suspect they can but I just want to be sure.
|
Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 09:21:48
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yes, because they are battle brothers and as such are friendly units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 09:37:54
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
The Librarians are allowed to join your Guard blobs since they're battlebrothers with each other and the Librarians are independent characters.
The Librarians Chapter Tactics: White Scars keeps being "active" as long as there are no other models with Chapter Tactics in the unit, so the Librarians keep Hit & Run.
Hit & Run itself states "A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule that is locked in combat can choose to leave close combat at the end of any Assault phase."
So while H&R is not transfered to the other blob models it still allows the blob to Hit & Run.
TL;DR: Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 10:46:57
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Cheers, just wanted to clear that one up  should be useful for getting away from deathstars and knights/wraithknights that I can't kill!
|
Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/28 21:47:44
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Whoa!!! Evil thought. WS Libby in a squad of Bullgryn and a ministium priest.....
Or WS Libby in a Cohort cybernetica....hit and run monstrous robots with FNP and IWND? What?
Wow! Thanks for the idea. Now I am going to have to build a White Scars army...GW thanks you for the sale. Lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 16:00:46
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Can't join ics to units of mc
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 16:33:40
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The cohort cybernetica already has 1 IC and 2-6 infantry models in it but I can see the conflict.that this would cause. But here is some logic. The dominus is an IC who is attached to the two kastelan robot units, they are fielded as a single unit, but are three units for kill points. Why couldn't the Libby join the dominus?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/29 16:42:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 16:43:56
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The cohort cybernetica already has 1 IC and 2-6 infantry models in it but I can see the conflict.that this would cause. But here is some logic. The dominus is an IC who is attached to the two kastelan robot units, they are fielded as a single unit, but are three units for kill points. Why couldn't the Libby join the dominus?
Because it is still a single unit and it contains MCs. Unless specifically stated otherwise, an IC cannot join a unit that contains 1+ MCs.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 16:45:56
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The cohort cybernetica already has 1 IC and 2-6 infantry models in it but I can see the conflict.that this would cause. But here is some logic. The dominus is an IC who is attached to the two kastelan robot units, they are fielded as a single unit, but are three units for kill points. Why couldn't the Libby join the dominus?
There is a specific rule against it. Please show your specific rule allowing it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 17:07:24
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 17:09:05
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
You aren't joining the IC, you are joining a unit that has an IC and MCs in it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/29 17:55:07
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
You're not joining an ic to an ic unit. It's joining a unit containing one plus mc. Which it is forbidden from doing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 18:04:49
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
So an IC and TWO units of monstrous creatures are required to fielded as a single unit?1? That sounds highly bizzare. Are you sure that it's not saying that they are merely all part of one formation?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 18:06:44
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
doctortom wrote:Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
So an IC and TWO units of monstrous creatures are required to fielded as a single unit?1? That sounds highly bizzare. Are you sure that it's not saying that they are merely all part of one formation?
It's the formation and it becomes one unit as well, and disallows the Dominus from leaving it iirc. But the difference is, this is outlined within the formation rules for it, overriding the blanket rule of no IC joining any units with MCs. This also means that no other IC could join that formation-unit during the game, and still means that unless taken as this formation, a Dominus can still not join Kastelans.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 18:47:44
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jacksmiles wrote: doctortom wrote:Maj.Lee Scrude wrote:The dominus is an IC. The formation require this IC to be joined to 2 Kastelan Robot units. The dominus is still an IC, it is just required to be fielded as a single unit. The librarian should be able to join with another IC unit, no?
So an IC and TWO units of monstrous creatures are required to fielded as a single unit?1? That sounds highly bizzare. Are you sure that it's not saying that they are merely all part of one formation?
It's the formation and it becomes one unit as well, and disallows the Dominus from leaving it iirc. But the difference is, this is outlined within the formation rules for it, overriding the blanket rule of no IC joining any units with MCs. This also means that no other IC could join that formation-unit during the game, and still means that unless taken as this formation, a Dominus can still not join Kastelans.
That makes sense then. I agree that no IC from outside the formation would be able to join the unit, even a Dominus from outside the formation. You're stuck with whatever's in the formation being the whole of the unit.
Thanks for the quick response!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/31 18:48:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/01 16:19:56
Subject: Can white scars librarians give hit and run to guard blobs?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nekooni wrote:
The Librarians Chapter Tactics: White Scars keeps being "active" as long as there are no other models with Chapter Tactics in the unit, .
The FAQ has changed that to no Space Marines at all, even ones without chapter tactics.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
|