Switch Theme:

Embarked on allied vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




San Diego, CA

Hello, so I was just talking tactics for some new units with a friend when he said I cannot drop a unit from my primary detachment in an allied drop pod because the game cannot be started embarked on in an allied transport. I was just curious if there is any merit to this, or if there was an faq or something that supported it that I could read on. I am at work, and won't have access to my books until later, but would love some guidance on where to look or clarification.

Edit: He said it was from a faq that updated it, but the most recent one I see is December 2015.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/11/01 14:21:41


 
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

The most recent FAQ was this year and is on the Warhammer 40k Facebook, let me find the exact post for you.

Here you go: https://www.facebook.com/1575682476085719/photos/pcb.1610528622601104/1610526502601316/?type=3&theater

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/31 18:14:28


Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 mrhappyface wrote:
The most recent FAQ was this year and is on the Warhammer 40k Facebook, let me find the exact post for you.

Here you go: https://www.facebook.com/1575682476085719/photos/pcb.1610528622601104/1610526502601316/?type=3&theater

Keep in mind that this is a Draft FAQ, and can be undergoing some revisement before its official release. Many people are playing as fait accompli, however so they are used to it in case they do go live.

Also keep in mind, Exalbaru, that this answer, along with some others, runs counter to the written rules in the rulebook and suggests some interestingly broken things (in a bad way) for even normal armies to operate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/31 18:33:44


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




San Diego, CA

I'll keep that in mind, thank you very much! I found the specific answer he was talking about, I was baffled trying to find it at how hard it was to discover. I never would have thought to check facebook so I'm now following them for sure. This definitely changes how I was planning on using custodes. Thanks again!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





He is right even without the Draft FAQ though, if the Drop Pod is bought as a dedicated transport for the other army. If it was taking up a FA slot, though, you would have to be playing by the Draft FAQ (which, as Charistoph says, could undergo some revising before being issued) in order for it to not be able to happen. Of course, since it's only a draft and not official, you and your opponent would have to agree to go by what the draft FAQ says for it to apply.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Also note the draft FAQ restriction applies only when unit and transport are from different Factions. If you have multiple Detachments of the same Faction you may embark units of one Detachment on Transports of another, subject to any other specific restrictions such as Dedicated Transports or Transport Capacity etc.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: