Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 02:02:24
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I know from the FAQ that if you come on from reserve using cult ambush on a the roll of a 1 or a 2 you count as moving and can only snap fire heavy weapons. On a 3 to 6, especially for 5, does the unit count as moving. They haven't moved from a table edge, they're simply placed between 3 to 9 inches depending on what you roll so I would assume that they would count as having remained stationary as they never had an option to move unlike with normal coming in from reserve on your table edge or from outflank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 05:48:56
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The rule specifically states that a unit that arrives via Cult Ambush counts as having arrived from reserves normally. Which means yes. They moved.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 07:51:35
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Lance845 wrote:The rule specifically states that a unit that arrives via Cult Ambush counts as having arrived from reserves normally. Which means yes. They moved.
This is also how I play them
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 09:11:34
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Lance845 wrote:The rule specifically states that a unit that arrives via Cult Ambush counts as having arrived from reserves normally. Which means yes. They moved.
The problem is, the rule says "unless otherwise specified, units count as moving on from reserves normally". Issue is, actually every single result on the table specifies something other than that (even if the 1 result is functionally the same). 3-6 though do say "deploy the unit", and there's no precedent for a unit which is just "deployed" to count as moving - this like deep strike specify that the unit counts as moving and I don't think use the word deploy.
So imo 3-6 the unit hasn't moved, which doesn't seem too outrageous as no cult ambushing units have that good firepower. Automatically Appended Next Post: Sorry, wording was ' set up' not deploy.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/07 09:34:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 14:53:50
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ravenerioli wrote:I know from the FAQ that if you come on from reserve using cult ambush on a the roll of a 1 or a 2 you count as moving and can only snap fire heavy weapons. On a 3 to 6, especially for 5, does the unit count as moving. They haven't moved from a table edge, they're simply placed between 3 to 9 inches depending on what you roll so I would assume that they would count as having remained stationary as they never had an option to move unlike with normal coming in from reserve on your table edge or from outflank.
The answer is "we don't know".
On the one hand, it says "deploy", not "move". On the other hand it says it works like arrive from Reserves, which states that it is a move. The extra wrench is that you can deploy via Cult Ambush at the start of the game as well, which doesn't happen on any "turn" of the game. It's a wrench in it because, even if you say that arriving from Reserves means that you have moved during the game, you must answer the question of whether or not they have counted as moving when they've deploy via Cult Ambush at the start of the game instead. Again, we're left with a "we don't know" answer. If you say "yes, they count as moving", then you'd also have to say that ALL units in the game count as having moved on the first turn of the game, because they have also "deployed" in those positions. If, however, you take deploying the unit to mean they appear in their positions without moving, it solves all those problems. That doesn't mean this is correct, but it does nicely resolve the problem.
So, while some people may claim it's black and white, the answer is that we really honestly don't know. Discuss with your group and come to a conclusion you feel is fair.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 15:22:54
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The "otherwise" is during deployment when the models are infiltrated.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/08 17:28:21
Subject: Re:Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Really, I think it work like that...
Need FAQ...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/30 08:22:36
Subject: Genestealer cult cult ambush
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Benlisted wrote: Lance845 wrote:The rule specifically states that a unit that arrives via Cult Ambush counts as having arrived from reserves normally. Which means yes. They moved.
The problem is, the rule says "unless otherwise specified, units count as moving on from reserves normally". Issue is, actually every single result on the table specifies something other than that (even if the 1 result is functionally the same). 3-6 though do say "deploy the unit", and there's no precedent for a unit which is just "deployed" to count as moving - this like deep strike specify that the unit counts as moving and I don't think use the word deploy.
So imo 3-6 the unit hasn't moved, which doesn't seem too outrageous as no cult ambushing units have that good firepower.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Sorry, wording was ' set up' not deploy.
Just to clarify, read up on the reserves and deep strike rules. If a unit comes in from reserves, it counts as having moved. Period. Units which come in from reserve and deepstrike follow each ruleset. Unless stated otherwise: (insert cult ambush rule here) meaning a different special rule or circumstance says you can ignore or manipulate the reserve rolls/deployment; such as the cult ambush rolling a 5 or 6 will allow you to assault, deploy closer and or double shooting, despite reserves and deep striking, and shooting phase preventing you from doing any of the prior. These rules are unfortunatly not included in the Gene Stealer cult book, but if you are familiar with them, there is no question as to how they work, its very explicit in what it can do. And IMHO the Gene Stealer Cult is the most clear and unambiguous rule book to come out todate.
In the effort to maixmied shooting you have many other means, psyker powers and special character rules are very abundant in the GC codex. Relentless, and other rules can be granted via Wargear, special rules, independent characters and psyker abilities. Give the codex another read and you'll find exactly what youre looking for (ways to give your heavy weapons full BS, both in and out of cult ambush), but not VIA Cult Ambush rules.
|
8th Overhaul!
Over 18,000 SM
Over 7000 Tyranids
About 3000 Genestealer cult
About 6000 IG
About 2500 Chaos
About 5000 Skitarii/Admech *Current focus
About 3000 Deamons
2 Imperial Knigts... Soon to be a third
|
|
 |
 |
|