Switch Theme:

Haemotrope and plasma obliterator clarifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior





Hey,

So there are a number of things that are unclear to me regarding the combo of these two fortification and I am hoping for some clarifications.


1. If you drop the Haemotrope within 2 inches of the plasma obliterator, can you choose to use the 10 inch blast template rather than the 7 inches? It's not a vehicle and it can also be shot by a model inside the building so I cannot see how this would be illegal.

2. If you are using a model with a high enough BS to get a reroll on the shots, you will get to reroll the gets hot of 1. However, assuming you can use the Plasma Feed rule, you would also gets hot on a 2. Now it's unclear to me whether that means the shot misses (and I can use the reroll) or is still a hit, but I suffer the consequences of the gets hot rule. The only instance of this rule I am able to refer to is the Moritat using two plasma pistols in a game of 30k, but that does not seem like it would be a correct ruling for this scenario.

Bonus question.

The Haemotrope mentions it is a fortication that can be used in "any army". I will take this is a little misleading as I take it you still require a Fortication slot in your force org to take it. If you are building an army around formations that do not grant you access to fortifications, then you would not be able to take this building. Am I right to assume as much?



Thanks in advance for the responses!



18 / 3 / 6 since 6th ed. 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Voldrak wrote:
1. If you drop the Haemotrope within 2 inches of the plasma obliterator, can you choose to use the 10 inch blast template rather than the 7 inches? It's not a vehicle and it can also be shot by a model inside the building so I cannot see how this would be illegal.


It's illegal because the rule says "uses the 5" blast template" not "uses the next-largest blast template". The rule does nothing for a weapon that already has a 5" or better blast template.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Voldrak wrote:
2. If you are using a model with a high enough BS to get a reroll on the shots, you will get to reroll the gets hot of 1. However, assuming you can use the Plasma Feed rule, you would also gets hot on a 2. Now it's unclear to me whether that means the shot misses (and I can use the reroll) or is still a hit, but I suffer the consequences of the gets hot rule. The only instance of this rule I am able to refer to is the Moritat using two plasma pistols in a game of 30k, but that does not seem like it would be a correct ruling for this scenario.

Nothing states it doesn't fire unless it is a Blast. So, the Shot hits the target, and the model gets to check his Saves.

Voldrak wrote:
The Haemotrope mentions it is a fortication that can be used in "any army". I will take this is a little misleading as I take it you still require a Fortication slot in your force org to take it. If you are building an army around formations that do not grant you access to fortifications, then you would not be able to take this building. Am I right to assume as much?

It is not misleading. The concept of "can be used in any army" is referring to its Faction status. Most detachments require all models in them to be of the same Faction or have no Faction.

Also keep in mind that "detachment" and "army" are not entirely synonymous in the game's terminology any more. Your army is the collection of models you bring to the table, and they can be organized in any number of .detachments.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Voldrak wrote:
Hey,
2. If you are using a model with a high enough BS to get a reroll on the shots, you will get to reroll the gets hot of 1. However, assuming you can use the Plasma Feed rule, you would also gets hot on a 2. Now it's unclear to me whether that means the shot misses (and I can use the reroll) or is still a hit, but I suffer the consequences of the gets hot rule. The only instance of this rule I am able to refer to is the Moritat using two plasma pistols in a game of 30k, but that does not seem like it would be a correct ruling for this scenario.


Neither. When you use the Haemotrope reactors, the shot becomes a Blast. (Or Large Blast, as the case may be.) That means you simply take a roll to see if you Get Hot before taking the actual shot. If your BS is 6, you just get a -6 on the number of Inches that the shot scatters. Doesn't effect the Gets Hot roll.
   
Made in cn
Fresh-Faced New User




Waaaghpower wrote:
Voldrak wrote:
Hey,
2. If you are using a model with a high enough BS to get a reroll on the shots, you will get to reroll the gets hot of 1. However, assuming you can use the Plasma Feed rule, you would also gets hot on a 2. Now it's unclear to me whether that means the shot misses (and I can use the reroll) or is still a hit, but I suffer the consequences of the gets hot rule. The only instance of this rule I am able to refer to is the Moritat using two plasma pistols in a game of 30k, but that does not seem like it would be a correct ruling for this scenario.


Neither. When you use the Haemotrope reactors, the shot becomes a Blast. (Or Large Blast, as the case may be.) That means you simply take a roll to see if you Get Hot before taking the actual shot. If your BS is 6, you just get a -6 on the number of Inches that the shot scatters. Doesn't effect the Gets Hot roll.


If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
   
Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





RNAS Rockall

Waaaghpower wrote:
Voldrak wrote:
Hey,
2. If you are using a model with a high enough BS to get a reroll on the shots, you will get to reroll the gets hot of 1. However, assuming you can use the Plasma Feed rule, you would also gets hot on a 2. Now it's unclear to me whether that means the shot misses (and I can use the reroll) or is still a hit, but I suffer the consequences of the gets hot rule. The only instance of this rule I am able to refer to is the Moritat using two plasma pistols in a game of 30k, but that does not seem like it would be a correct ruling for this scenario.


Neither. When you use the Haemotrope reactors, the shot becomes a Blast. (Or Large Blast, as the case may be.) That means you simply take a roll to see if you Get Hot before taking the actual shot. If your BS is 6, you just get a -6 on the number of Inches that the shot scatters. Doesn't effect the Gets Hot roll.


Incorrect;
BRB pg 164 'Gets Hot' col2 para 2 wrote:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin Linked special rule) ... it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.


If you can reroll to hit, you *also* get reroll for Gets Hot blasts. It's seperate to, but overlaps with any kind of full reroll to hit, instead of conditional reroll to hit (such as 1s for preferred enemy)

Since the Blast Size++ doesn't apply to the obliterator specifically 1/2 doesn't matter, but if you had twin linked amped plasma cannons, a 1 or a 2 would be rerolled, and if you got a 1 or a 2 again the shot would be negated, and you'd have to take an armour save.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/11/17 12:17:06


Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: