Switch Theme:

Coteaz and drop pods arriving 1st turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




hi

I am confused/unsure what the deal is with regard to Coteaz and drop pod arriving automatically in turn 1.

would I be correct that if the pod arrives with in 12" of Coteaz he and his unit take a shot?

as the marines on the pod also arrive as reserves are they again eligilble to be "I've been expecting you'd"?

lastly until you good people answer can Coteaz join a unit of allies and will the power from coteaz beon :0


cheers

fatious
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It used to be (back when there was a FAQ for this), I recall them saying you could only shoot the drop pod because the marines counted as disembarking. They've gotten rid of the FAQ that says that, though, and the new main rulebook FAQ has the question/answer:

"Q: Do units disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport also count as entering play via Deep Strike?

A: Yes"

So, that FAQ answer might be used by someone to say that Coteaz could shoot the passengers. I would suggest still treating it as disembarking and not deep striking for purposes of Coteaz' special rule. Note that this might become a moot point in the near future when the Imperial Agents sourcebook comes out, as they might have updated Coteaz rules that clarify this at that time.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Inquisition Draft FAQ

[Thumb - Inquisition.jpg]


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The unit still arrived from Reserves (which is the trigger). If the Drop Pod was within (but not wholly within) 12", the marines could disembark on the far side and be out of range (and possibly LoS). If the Pod lands wholly within 12", then depending on where the Marines disembark they may or may not be eligible based on 12" range and/or LoS.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




thanks dudes
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: