| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/30 22:11:15
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Hi all
So I went out and bought the Scions Start Collecting box as I like the models and the formation sounds trolltastic
The problem is I then realised that I only have the Astra Militarum codex. Am I missing something or is there nothing in the formation rules that would stop me from using the Scion rules from the AM codex instead of the Scion codex?
Cheers, Vim
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/30 23:19:53
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The symbol at the top center of the datasheet tells you what faction can use it.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/01 16:48:42
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
The only symbols I can see on the sheet that have any bearing on rules are the tri-skull formation symbol. The scions exist in the AM codex.
My question is. Is it OK to use the Scion rules from the AM codex to run this formation?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/01 16:57:40
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
vim_the_good wrote:The only symbols I can see on the sheet that have any bearing on rules are the tri-skull formation symbol. The scions exist in the AM codex.
My question is. Is it OK to use the Scion rules from the AM codex to run this formation?
I don't think so, RAW or RAI. That being said, ask your opponent or TO if it's okay.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/01 17:17:47
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
vim_the_good wrote:The only symbols I can see on the sheet that have any bearing on rules are the tri-skull formation symbol. The scions exist in the AM codex.
My question is. Is it OK to use the Scion rules from the AM codex to run this formation?
The symbol should be between the tri-skulls and above the name and should match the symbol on the codex you are drawing units from. However, I believe the Storm Troopers Faction uses the AM symbol...
Aside from the orders, the biggest difference is the AM codex provides the Squads in Platoons and in different Roles, and the MT codex does not.
Considering that it is the SCIONS Start Collecting Box and not the AM Start Collecting Box, I am just going to assume that it is for the Scions book. But hey, if you're friends are cool with you using an older point-set and Orders not specific to MT, they you're fine.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/01 19:05:31
Subject: Re:AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/02 09:19:46
Subject: AM rules for Hellrain Brigade?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
The Militarum Tempestus exist in the AM codex though. There is nothing in this formation that can not be taken through the AM codex.
Last night when I got home I examined everything printed on the box and on the formation card. The only symbols that exist are the tri-skull formation symbol and the symbol in the top middle of the card, the skull with lion heads and wings is the same symbol used throughout the AM codex. On the back of the card under the title of 'Next Step' there are pictures of Scion units, the Scion codex, a Lemun Russ and a Cadian squad. Why the AM units on the back?
Charistoph brings up the only difference I can find which are the orders.
So for the now I will play using the rules for the Scions found in the AM codex but will ask my opponent as suggested.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|