Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 08:43:31
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
So i am wanting to bring in some artillery units into my army, from what I understand the barrage weapons are able to fire at units out of line of sight but what about scatter/ballistic skill? what about firing within the weapons minimum range? are there any other rules I need to know about? Thank you in advance.
|
40k:
Salamanders - 3500 points
Inquisition - 500
30k:
Salamanders - 4000
Imperial Militia - 1500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 08:46:35
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
This is all explained in the Barrage rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 09:17:10
Subject: Re:Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Barrage weapons (p160 of the rulebook) always* also use the rules for Blast weapons (page 158), so all of the Blast "place blast marker, roll scatter dice, count hits" mechanics still apply.
Barrage then alters three main things about the Blast rules:
1) It allows you to fire "indirectly" at units you cannot see - these are less accurate. This is where the weapon's minimum range is used.
2) It alters the "point of origin" of the attack from the point of view of wound allocation and cover saves.
3) If there are multiple weapons in the same unit with Barrage firing at the same time (i.e. a unit of AM/IG Mortars), you do not resolve each individual shot but instead resolve it as a single "multiple barrage", which is a fun mechanic but is much easier if you have multiple blast markers available.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 14:33:40
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
3 is wrong.
Multiple different weapons do not matter.
Multiple of the same weapons are as you describe.
If a Master of Ordnance is in a Company Command Squad with a Mortar-equipped Heavy weapon Team, those 2 barrage weapons do not use the multiple barrage rules.
Multiple of the Same weapon(A heavy weapon squad with 3 Mortars, or 2-5 combined Infantry Squads from a single Platoon, all with Mortars) do use the multiple barrage rules as you describe.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 16:26:43
Subject: Re:Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Quanar wrote:
3) If there are multiple weapons in the same unit with Barrage firing at the same time (i.e. a unit of AM/ IG Mortars), you do not resolve each individual shot but instead resolve it as a single "multiple barrage", which is a fun mechanic but is much easier if you have multiple blast markers available.
Kel is correct that this is no longer true for 7th edition.
It was, however, true for previous editions of the rules (the old "use the Griffon to re-roll the scatter for your Basilisks" technique), so you're not going crazy.
DoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 16:57:49
Subject: Re:Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Quanar wrote:multiple weapons in the same unit with Barrage firing at the same time
I'm quoting myself, how weird...
@ Kel and Dog, I was meaning that the rules which restrict weapons with different names to fire at different times would cover me succinctly here, as a brief overview of the barrage rules. Seeing as I remember even in 7th people were arguing over the multiple barrage wording, and I didn't want to dig into it in this thread.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/11 16:58:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 19:28:19
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Your meaning clealy needed clarification
Even with the at the same time it seemed like you were saying multiple different barrage weapons, with at the same time referring to the same shooting phase.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/11 21:41:55
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
It often does  , and I always appreciate when you and others step in to help. Just wanted to point out I knew you can't combine different barrage weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/12 01:01:27
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
so if the templates after the first 'flip
of the original one, what about if the original one misses, do you roll again or do you just count the whole squad as failing?
|
40k:
Salamanders - 3500 points
Inquisition - 500
30k:
Salamanders - 4000
Imperial Militia - 1500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/12 01:19:38
Subject: Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
|
a 'miss' in the case of scatter rolls means you hit somewhere else, and place your template there. If you've got enough templates firing in one barrage it is possible to end up clipping your original target with the subsequent scatters.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/12 01:19:54
Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/12 07:20:29
Subject: Re:Some help with the Barrage rule
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
If the initial shot misses the table then the entire multiple barrage is lost. If it just misses the target then it is still resolved as you'll either have hit a different unit, or can use enough "Hit!"s rolled to "walk" the barrage back as Malamis mentions.
|
|
 |
 |
|