Switch Theme:

Optional Pile In?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought






One of my customers at work is an avid 40k fan from another group and was telling me an interestingstory about a game his Tyranids had against an Orc player, he pincered the Orc player between Gants and a Carnifex and as he started forcing the Orcs to lose unit coherency as they Pile In, or out in this particular case to the two melee frontlines, he claims there is a maximum pile in move but no minimum. Long story short the two got into an argument about it and he came to grouch to me.
I'm five hours from the end of my shift but as a melee heavy Space Wolf player the curiosity is killing me. Is Pile In optional?

I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

"...must make a Pile In move."

Nope. Not optional.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/12/14 10:29:27


 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Dakka Wolf wrote:
One of my customers at work is an avid 40k fan from another group and was telling me an interestingstory about a game his Tyranids had against an Orc player, he pincered the Orc player between Gants and a Carnifex and as he started forcing the Orcs to lose unit coherency as they Pile In, or out in this particular case to the two melee frontlines, he claims there is a maximum pile in move but no minimum. Long story short the two got into an argument about it and he came to grouch to me.
I'm five hours from the end of my shift but as a melee heavy Space Wolf player the curiosity is killing me. Is Pile In optional?


Your friend is short of right.

While He must Pile in he only can do it with models not locked yet in Base to base combat and always aiming to reach an enemy model base. (quick example a simple carnifex surrounded by 30 orks, you do not need to resolve pile in for orks outside the 1st circle since they can't get closer anyway, considering they already are touching their friends bases unless you are filling some casualties spots)


But the thing is running out of coherency it's irrelevant in assault, if you are out of coherency you must undergo your movement and shooting/run phase to get back in coherency (there is no further penalty) and if you can't move by any chance like being locked in combat since you aren't allowed to move/run you can pretty much ignore the out of coherency rules (at least until you need to consolidate or the combat ends)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





One thing to remember - "Pile In moves follow the same rules as charge moves, except that they are not slowed by difficutt terrain" page 47

"A charging model must end its charge move in unit coherency with another model in its own unit that has already moved" page 45

So, there's some rules for needing coherency that can apply (on a strict reading, not for the first model in a pile in move, but for every one after that in that phase).
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Clemson SC

Pictures would have been helpful. Some models don't necessarily pile in, if they can not follow normal movement rules (eg. blocked my other friendly models etc), wherein they must pile-in if they would end up closer to an enemy model at the end of the move. So say you have a big circular blob of an assault, if your pile-in move just takes you 'around' the enemy model, but you don't actually end up closer, you don't make the move.

Warhammer TV on FB recently did a vid on pile-in moves for Sigmar but the same theory applies. But they didn't address coherency..

3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts

How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: