Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 20:12:51
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Stubborn White Lion
|
A friend of mine believe he can make a standard CSM sorcerer have a 2++ invulnerable through sigil of corruption(4++) mark of tzeentch(+1 making 3++) then blessings of tzeentch for another +1 making it 2++ my thought was the mark of tzeentch hard caps invulnerables to 3++ no matter how many bonuses you stack, his argument is that the mark isn't taking it over 3++ but blessings doesn't cap and therefore pushes it over, is there an FAQ or anything anywhere that states no matter the source a model with mark of tzeentch can never get better than a 3++?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 20:40:23
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the Mark of Tzeentch is being applied to bring the total over 3++, then it doesn't function. If, however, he uses Blessing of Tzeentch and the psychic power that gives you a 3++ on its own, then you get a 2++ invul as the +1 to your Inv save from the Mark of Tzeentch doesn't factor into it.
EDIT: There's no specific FAQ or anything attributing to it, but if you're factoring the bonus in when calculating the total, if the total goes above 3++, then it won't give it to you. It doesn't matter "when" it's factored in, just that it IS factored in at some point.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/15 20:42:07
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 20:46:45
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
My understanding is that MoT cannot be used to make an Invul better than 3++, but not that it prevents a model from having a 2++. So lets say you have a Thousand son Sorcerer with sigil that rolls Sanctuary from Santic Daemonology. Sanctuary is a blessing that grants +1 invul, and if in the special TS detachment, blessings grant an additional +1. So Sigil is 4++, and Sanctuary would make that a 2++ without even needing MoT However, a Sorcerer with Aura of Dark Glory (5++) with Sancuary in the TS Detachment would only have a 3++ Aura is 5++, Sanctuary would grant +2, making it a 3++. MoT would effectively "shut off" at this point and not work as using its bonus would take the model past 3++ So in this way a model with MoT CAN have a 2++, but only if there are enough bonuses to get there WITHOUT the MoT. Nothing in the MoT says you cannot have a 2++, only the MoT cannot be use to get there. -
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/15 20:49:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 20:50:47
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Stubborn White Lion
|
This is how I saw it too, thanks for the quick answers guys!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 21:19:30
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
This is also how i interpret the ruling, however i'm sure it's both reasonably debatable and actively debated at present time.
|
7500 pts Chaos Daemons |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/15 22:34:18
Subject: Mark of tzeentch, does it hard cap?
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
If the rule text says it can't be used to give a save better than 3++ than it would be removed from calculation for determining whether or not the model has a 2++ invuln' save. Using it to calculate a 2++ save would be invalid.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
|