Switch Theme:

Deploying in a different legion's fortifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




Texas

It in the Traitor Legion's the Iron Warrior have an auxiliary formation of 1-3 fortifications. Is there any reason I can't add a bunker (aka Iron Warriors Aux. Formation) to say a Word Bearers army and deploy the Word Bearers in the bunker upon deployment? I assume this follows the rules akin to the FAQ about units of same different factions embarking on each other's vehicles during deployment and I assume that Word Bearers and Iron Warriors are considered the same faction. Just wanted to check before I tried it.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 cinnabar wrote:
It in the Traitor Legion's the Iron Warrior have an auxiliary formation of 1-3 fortifications. Is there any reason I can't add a bunker (aka Iron Warriors Aux. Formation) to say a Word Bearers army and deploy the Word Bearers in the bunker upon deployment? I assume this follows the rules akin to the FAQ about units of same different factions embarking on each other's vehicles during deployment and I assume that Word Bearers and Iron Warriors are considered the same faction. Just wanted to check before I tried it.

'Strongholds of Chaos' doesn't appear to be a Formation, just an option to allow the Iron Warriors Grand Company to field up to three Fortifications. As such, it can not be used in any army other than the Iron Warriors Grand Company.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Iron Warrior's 1-3 fortification auxiliary choice isn't a formation so you can't take it outside of the Iron Warrior decurion.

And since fortifications you'd be using don't have a faction (as opposed to transports which are their army's faction) there is nothing stopping you from getting in to with with any army
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




Texas

Hmm...I'm now confused. Stronghold of Chaos is listed as an auxiliary in the same listed as all the other auxiliary formation in the Iron Warrior detachment. If it's not a formation, what is it? It's listed the same way as the spawn are in the Chaos Warband detachment. Does that also mean you can’t tack on 1-3 spawn onto a CAD as a legal list?

I'm a newb and am trying to understand. Thanks.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 cinnabar wrote:
Hmm...I'm now confused. Stronghold of Chaos is listed as an auxiliary in the same listed as all the other auxiliary formation in the Iron Warrior detachment. If it's not a formation, what is it? It's listed the same way as the spawn are in the Chaos Warband detachment. Does that also mean you can’t tack on 1-3 spawn onto a CAD as a legal list?

I'm a newb and am trying to understand. Thanks.

That is correct. Both of those are not formations, they are just options specific to their meta detachments (like how you can take a heavy support option in a CAD). They are never referred to as formations either

Formations have their own datasheet detailing how to use that detachment.
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




Texas

Got it. Thank you for the clarification. Back to the drawing board....
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Illinois

Treat building as vehicals except rules explicity seperating them. I have to object to the other posts here. Not only can your enemy, go inside your buildings, your allies can as well. I can see an argumant made like tyranids and Necron not being allowed to cuddle up. But as long as you follow the faction/allies/rules grid it should be fine.

I can understand even, saying your allied forces cannot start in them, but as soon as first turn moves around, load up.

**Though to take the formation followed the detachment rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/20 05:46:19


8th Overhaul!
Over 18,000 SM
Over 7000 Tyranids
About 3000 Genestealer cult
About 6000 IG
About 2500 Chaos
About 5000 Skitarii/Admech *Current focus
About 3000 Deamons
2 Imperial Knigts... Soon to be a third

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: