Switch Theme:

Renegade Demagogue  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Evening Gents, I was just taking a read through my IA:SoV and looking at making a new army list, when I noticed something peculiar. Most of the Demagogue Devotions fairly plainly only apply to the detachment that your Arch Demagogue is taken in. However, the Master of the Horde devotion, along with the effects of taking a Chaos Covenant on your warlord, are exceptions to this. Master of the Horde specifies "whenever a Renegade Infantry Squad bought as part of the same army as a Demagogue with this devotion and numbering at least 15 models at the start of play is removed from play asa a casualty or flees off of a table edge, roll a d6" and "an army whose Demagogue has this devotion must contain at east two renegade infantry platoons, and increases the maximum size of renegade infantry squads to 30." In addition, all of the Master of Renegades unlocks specify "the army may contain" a given number of certain units.

Given this wording, would a second Renegades detachment in the same army benefit from the special rules and unlocks of a Demagogue in a different detachment?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Both renegade lists were written for 6ed (they're books just didn't get printed until after 7ed). That is why it's written the way it is.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'm kinda skeptical about that answer. For a couple reasons. First, 6th already allowed for multiple detachments, and Vraksian Renegades are a different faction from The Lost and the Damned in the same way that White Scars aren't Ultramarines. Second, IA:SoV includes two brand new battleforged detachments for Renegades, which means they had to at least be written with 7th somewhat in mind.

I was hoping for something a bit more rules-crunchwise to show why this wouldn't work, rather than just "these books are a bit older."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: