Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 17:05:11
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Imperial knight has guardsmen squad and and tactical squad in range of its stubber and gatling cannon. It fires gatling cannon at space marines and stubber at guardsmen. It is in range to charge both. Can it choose to charge either?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 17:30:17
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yes. The only restriction is that if you shoot then assault, it MUST be a unit that you shot at. If you assault the Marine, that's cool because you shot at them. if you assault the guardsmen instead, guess what? That's cool too. You cannot, however, assault both. You need a second model in YOUR unit to engage further units
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/28 17:30:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 19:42:40
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Galef wrote:You cannot, however, assault both. You need a second model in YOUR unit to engage further units
Not entirely factual. It is only required to lock them in combat. "Engaged" and "locked" are not entirely synonymous.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 20:12:50
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Charistoph wrote: Galef wrote:You cannot, however, assault both. You need a second model in YOUR unit to engage further units
Not entirely factual. It is only required to lock them in combat. "Engaged" and "locked" are not entirely synonymous.
I'm mainly going off the FAQ that says a single model cannot assault multiple units. Of course, GW keeps changing rules and I am starting to get things mixed up
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 21:09:21
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Galef wrote: Charistoph wrote: Galef wrote:You cannot, however, assault both. You need a second model in YOUR unit to engage further units
Not entirely factual. It is only required to lock them in combat. "Engaged" and "locked" are not entirely synonymous.
I'm mainly going off the FAQ that says a single model cannot assault multiple units. Of course, GW keeps changing rules and I am starting to get things mixed up
"Engaged" has two conditions, "locked" has one. Engaged does not require a model to be close to an enemy model (though, that still counts), just close to a friendly model which is in base contact with one.
Admittedly, getting any Secondary Targets in Base Contact will be difficult until Pile Ins occur, especially if you don't have Hammer of Wrath.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/28 21:09:48
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 21:23:48
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lets not start this again after that other thread was locked....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/28 21:24:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 22:49:03
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Skalathrax8 wrote:Imperial knight has guardsmen squad and and tactical squad in range of its stubber and gatling cannon. It fires gatling cannon at space marines and stubber at guardsmen. It is in range to charge both. Can it choose to charge either?
Skalathrax8, please ignore Charistoph's confused interpretation of the rules. The first response was correct. The knight may charge any unit at which it shoots.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 23:38:43
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Librarian with Freaky Familiar
|
oh but then if you had 2 knights in a unit you could do a split charge no O.o
|
To many unpainted models to count. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 23:50:04
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
deviantduck wrote: Skalathrax8 wrote:Imperial knight has guardsmen squad and and tactical squad in range of its stubber and gatling cannon. It fires gatling cannon at space marines and stubber at guardsmen. It is in range to charge both. Can it choose to charge either?
Skalathrax8, please ignore Charistoph's confused interpretation of the rules. The first response was correct. The knight may charge any unit at which it shoots.
It is not confused, it is reading the definitions that are written. Oddly enough, I was addressing Galef's tangent.
Please do not use such an adjective if you do not plan to address it properly. It comes across as ad hominem.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/12/28 23:52:00
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 23:53:24
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Charistoph wrote: deviantduck wrote: Skalathrax8 wrote:Imperial knight has guardsmen squad and and tactical squad in range of its stubber and gatling cannon. It fires gatling cannon at space marines and stubber at guardsmen. It is in range to charge both. Can it choose to charge either?
Skalathrax8, please ignore Charistoph's confused interpretation of the rules. The first response was correct. The knight may charge any unit at which it shoots.
It is not confused, it is reading the definitions that are written. Oddly enough, I was addressing Galef's tangent.
Please do not use such an adjective if you do not plan to address it properly. It comes across as ad hominem.
We can leave that little sidetrack right about there, please.
Provided that they were close enough together, yes. But you could do that even if you only shot at one of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 23:56:04
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
Librarian with Freaky Familiar
|
So in reality you don't need to charge at what you shoot as long as what ever you want to shoot is close enough to what you want to charge.
|
To many unpainted models to count. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/29 00:18:47
Subject: Need help with shooting and charging at same unit
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
It's not quite that simple, no. The unit you shot at has to be your primary target, and there are a whole bunch of restrictions that limit how multiple charges can be pulled off. The main one being that you can only charge a second target with models that can't reach the primary target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|