Switch Theme:

Nemesor Zahndrekh and master of ambush  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Nemesor can change his warlord trait to anything after the first game turn. Under strategic traits there is a WT called master of ambush. It says that the warlord and 3 non vehicle models have the infiltrate special rule.

Obviously they can't deploy using infiltrate because they can only get the infiltrate special rule from the WT from the second game onwards. However infiltrate also gives outflank so if you keep any models in reserve when they come in on turn 2 with they could use outflank from this new warlord trait. This would make necrons even more powerful with C'tan's, powerful lychguard units, 20 man warriors blobs, tombblades, and destroyer units coming in from flanks and potentially right next to the opponent much faster than what would usually be possible. There is no other way that these units can outflank.

The rules for outflank are like everyone knows, 1-2 left side, 3-4 right 5-6 choose which side. However there is a sentence at the beginning which states

"during deployment players can declare that any unit that contains at least one model with this special rule is attempting to Outflank the enemy"

The thing is none of these models have outflank until the SECOND game turn, not BEFORE DEPLOYMENT so does it make their outflank void? Or should they be allowed to outflank? I don't think GW have FAQ'd this anywhere

Thanks
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If they dont have the ability to Outflank, they cannot declare they are using it before Deployment.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Fragile wrote:
If they dont have the ability to Outflank, they cannot declare they are using it before Deployment.

Technically, they wouldn't be able to use it before Deployment.

It can only be declared during Deployment. Outflank cannot be declared as part of Ongoing Reserves, either.

So, if they can go in to regular Reserves after receiving Infiltrate, then they could Outflank. Good luck with that, as it is a rare occurrence since Ongoing Reserves was introduced.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: