Switch Theme:

Question regarding lucius pattern drop pods and Chapters Ancients  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




SO, I play blood angels and I have a question regarding the use of lucius pattern drop pods and the Chapter Ancients formation from angels blade. the well timed blow rule. Lets say my list consists of 6 total drop pods, 3 LPDPs and 3 regular drop pods. This allows me to know that I will have all three dreads arriving from deepstrike turn one. the dreads can stay embarked on the LPDP if they wish or disembark when the land. I may be stretching here, but if disembarking counts as movement, and the LPDP doesn't specifically state I get two movement phases, then my my reckoning by choosing to stay embarked I have not moved on that turn (that is the `stretch`in this)


IF the above is agreed upon as RAW, then I could IMHO theoretically declare my Well timed blow prior to bringing in the dreads from deep strike on turn one, and by staying embarked on the pods have two rounds of shooting on that turn as well.


I get that its cheesy, but as far as I am reading things I believe it is all proper.

TL;DR - A: since I can disembark or not on the turn it lands from the LPDP i believe that by staying embarked I am choosing not to move
B: if I haven't moved the dreads I can declare and perform a well timed blow
C: I believe this is the case because if deepstriking and disembarking count as movement then I have been given the power to move twice by the LPDP even though noting specifically grants that
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

In the deepstrike rules, it states that a deepstriking vehicle counts as having moved at combat speed.

In the transport rules, it states that models firing out of a vehicle that moved at combat speed count as having moved this turn.

So sorry, but it looks like those dreads count as having moved, even if they hang out in their pods.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Arson Fire wrote:
In the deepstrike rules, it states that a deepstriking vehicle counts as having moved at combat speed.

In the transport rules, it states that models firing out of a vehicle that moved at combat speed count as having moved this turn.

So sorry, but it looks like those dreads count as having moved, even if they hang out in their pods.



Solid points, so then does the LPDP specifically confer the ability to move even though the unit has already been embarked on a vehicle that has moved at combat speed?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

GodsCronik wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:
In the deepstrike rules, it states that a deepstriking vehicle counts as having moved at combat speed.

In the transport rules, it states that models firing out of a vehicle that moved at combat speed count as having moved this turn.

So sorry, but it looks like those dreads count as having moved, even if they hang out in their pods.



Solid points, so then does the LPDP specifically confer the ability to move even though the unit has already been embarked on a vehicle that has moved at combat speed?


The Deep Strike rules gives specific permission allowing a unit to disembark from a deep striking transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




 Happyjew wrote:
GodsCronik wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:
In the deepstrike rules, it states that a deepstriking vehicle counts as having moved at combat speed.

In the transport rules, it states that models firing out of a vehicle that moved at combat speed count as having moved this turn.

So sorry, but it looks like those dreads count as having moved, even if they hang out in their pods.



Solid points, so then does the LPDP specifically confer the ability to move even though the unit has already been embarked on a vehicle that has moved at combat speed?


The Deep Strike rules gives specific permission allowing a unit to disembark from a deep striking transport.


Thanks again! this is what I get for not having brb infront of me while thinking.....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: