Switch Theme:

Alpha Legion Cultist Outflanking and Ongoing Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Unteroffizier





Can units of Alpha Legion cultists which have been created from their 4+ rolls outflank? In the rulebook it says that units from ongoing reserves must come on to the table from their board edge, thus not permitting them to outflank? But on the other hand, a recent warhammer community post suggested that they indeed can outflank from reserves:

"and as they have Infiltrate (thanks to the Forward Observers special rule), you can Outflank them after they are destroyed to increase the odds of them joining the fray in a good position."

Warhammer Community post here

Perhaps this has already been resolved, but I've been under the impression that they can't due to the rulebook. Thanks in advance for clarification!
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Outflank explicitly excludes when a unit arrives from Ongoing Reserves:

"When this unit arrives from Reserves, but not Ongoing Reserve, the controlling player..."
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




The lost and the damned formation bonus lets you outflank when you respawn on a 4+. This is probably what the article is referring to, and is true for all legions, not just the alphas.


The Alpha legion detachment also has the cult uprising rule (which can only be used alongside the lost and the damned formation) which gives another 4+ roll to get cultists into ongoing reserve. This unit cannot outflank however, as per the rules of on going reserve.

DFTT 
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




On this ccase you can outflank thanks to a specific special rule on the formation
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: