Switch Theme:

Does a Dark Apostle counteract LD penalties?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Journeyman Inquisitor with Visions of the Warp




Here is the scenario I want to look at.

Say you have a Sorcerer, a Dark Apostle, and a Culexus Assassin all within 6".

- The Culexus Assassin applies a -3 Ld modifier to any psyker model within 12".
- The Dark Apostle's leadership value "must be used" by friendly units within 6".
- The Sorcerer uses the Dark Apostle's leadership, which isn't affected by the Culexus.

What value is the Sorcerer's leadership?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

7, because the sorcerer uses the Dark Apostle's 10 and the Culexus drops it by 3.

Unless the Sorcerer is Stubborn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/08 15:23:20


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Minus modifiere are applied before set modifiers, and "Use Apostle's LD" is a set modifier. I'd say 10

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Minus modifiere are applied before set modifiers, and "Use Apostle's LD" is a set modifier. I'd say 10


Is using someone else's leadership even a modifier or simply instructions on how to determine your leadership value?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Minus modifiere are applied before set modifiers, and "Use Apostle's LD" is a set modifier. I'd say 10

It's not a set modifier. It's just st a replacement for your kid before you even start to consider what ld you have.
   
Made in ca
Journeyman Inquisitor with Visions of the Warp




You're not instructed to use "LD10"... you're instructed to use the Apostle's leadership.

And as far as I can see, the Apostle does not recieve a -3 modifier.

Order of events wouldn't make any difference if you interpret it that way.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

'Modifiers' tells us that set values are specific numbers:

"...or even setting its value (1, 8, etc.)"

The Dark Apostle's 'Demagogue' special rule states, "Friendly units from this codex within 6" of a Dark Apostle must use his Leadership instead of their own."

Clearly no set value is given, so 'Demagogue' is not a set value modifier.

You would use the Demagogue's Leadership instead of the Sorceror's own, and then apply the -3 modifier from the Culexus Assassin's 'Psychic Abomination' special rule.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Illinois

Use the Demagogue leadership. However, careful because a sly opponent may use abilities to lower the demagogues leadership and drop everything elses around it.

See Tyranid Deathleaper.

8th Overhaul!
Over 18,000 SM
Over 7000 Tyranids
About 3000 Genestealer cult
About 6000 IG
About 2500 Chaos
About 5000 Skitarii/Admech *Current focus
About 3000 Deamons
2 Imperial Knigts... Soon to be a third

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: