Switch Theme:

No Deep Strike Bubble  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

There's a new relic in Cadia that states: " Enemy units cannot Deep-Strike within 12" of the bearer. If they scatter within 12" of the Bearer, they suffer an automatic Deep Strike Mishap."

Does this mean that models disembarking from a transport that has arrived via deep strike cannot end their move within 12" of the bearer? Or is this only referring to the initial placement of the first model in the unit?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
There's a new relic in Cadia that states: " Enemy units cannot Deep-Strike within 12" of the bearer. If they scatter within 12" of the Bearer, they suffer an automatic Deep Strike Mishap."

Does this mean that models disembarking from a transport that has arrived via deep strike cannot end their move within 12" of the bearer? Or is this only referring to the initial placement of the first model in the unit?

Neither. It's referring to the whole unit that deep struck, but it doesn't prevent other kinds of movement from bringing the unit within 12".

If they are disembarking, then they're not Deep Striking. If a unit has lots of models, and those models can't be placed without part of the unit being within 12", then that unit mishaps, but if something like a Drop Pod lands more than 12" away and the units inside get out and walk within 12", then they're legal.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

There's precedent to suggest a unit disembarking from a Transport vehicle that arrived by Deep Strike also counts as arriving from Deep Strike; Coteaz can make his 'I've Been Expecting You' special rule shooting attack at such units immediately after they have disembarked.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 Mr. Shine wrote:
There's precedent to suggest a unit disembarking from a Transport vehicle that arrived by Deep Strike also counts as arriving from Deep Strike; Coteaz can make his 'I've Been Expecting You' special rule shooting attack at such units immediately after they have disembarked.


They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Jacksmiles wrote:
They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.


I agree that's clearly how it should be played, but the Inquisition FAQ has it that disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle to within a given range also counts as arriving from Deep Strike within that range.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 Mr. Shine wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.


I agree that's clearly how it should be played, but the Inquisition FAQ has it that disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle to within a given range also counts as arriving from Deep Strike within that range.

Coteaz' ability triggers when a unit arrives from Reserves. Not just from Deep Strike.
Also, no official FAQ (or even the draft FAQ) talks about what counts as being within range of the power. It's all about 'Can I shoot at both targets if they're both within range'.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 Mr. Shine wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.


I agree that's clearly how it should be played, but the Inquisition FAQ has it that disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle to within a given range also counts as arriving from Deep Strike within that range.


Whoops, missed that one. Still, even RAW that would make it crazy wonky. If they automatically mishap AFTER disembarking due to the relic, what mishaps? Just the unit, or the unit and the transport, and why? I'm envisioning a "rewind" scene lol.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Jacksmiles wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.


I agree that's clearly how it should be played, but the Inquisition FAQ has it that disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle to within a given range also counts as arriving from Deep Strike within that range.


Whoops, missed that one. Still, even RAW that would make it crazy wonky. If they automatically mishap AFTER disembarking due to the relic, what mishaps? Just the unit, or the unit and the transport, and why? I'm envisioning a "rewind" scene lol.

Read my post above. They do not mishap after disembarking.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/12 18:32:35


 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




Waaaghpower wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
They count as having arrived from deep strike, but the movement after disembarking would not itself be the deep strike, so disembarking from deep strike and then moving within 12" of the bearer should be fine.


I agree that's clearly how it should be played, but the Inquisition FAQ has it that disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle to within a given range also counts as arriving from Deep Strike within that range.


Whoops, missed that one. Still, even RAW that would make it crazy wonky. If they automatically mishap AFTER disembarking due to the relic, what mishaps? Just the unit, or the unit and the transport, and why? I'm envisioning a "rewind" scene lol.

Read my post above. They do not mishap after disembarking.


Yep, you're right, so I was right initially. Took the post I quoted at its word, but that's not what the FAQ actually says.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: