Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 18:17:26
Subject: Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The tireless advance rule states that a unit of Skitarii in the proper detachment gains Scout, but cannot outflank from this rule. If I were to attach someone else with scout, say a Raptors IC that would confer Scout, would they be able to outflank? It's clear I can outflank if I gain infiltrate or outflank via some other method I can do it, but what about in the case of another unit granting Scout?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 20:01:16
Subject: Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The rule says, "Units from this Formation cannot Outflank due to the Scout special rule".
It doesn't matter where they get the Scout rule from; they simply can't Outflank using it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 21:07:28
Subject: Re:Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
According to my digital dex the actual wording is: "Tireless Advance: All models from this detachment have the Crusader and Scout special rules. Units from this detachment cannot Outflank due to this special rule, but can do so as a result of a different special rule (such as Infiltrate or a mission special rule)". Emphasis mine.
The question is can they not Outflank from the Scout given by Tireless Advance, or cannot they not Outlfank from Scout? Which special rule is the "this special rule" referring to?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 21:34:46
Subject: Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If they had wanted to allow the unit to outflank by having an IC with scout join it, I think that would have been listed as an option when they talk about "different special rule". Of course it's not clear either way, but it's probably best to assume someone else's Scout won't let them outflank unless you and your opponent agree to that beforehand.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 22:39:22
Subject: Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ah, I see the issue.
The Skitarii Maniple detachment and Battle Maniple formation wordings are slightly different.
The Skitarii Maniple says "this special rule" while the Battle Maniple says "the Scout special rule".
I think from a strict RAW perspective the Skitarii Maniple detachment would allow another source of Scout to allow them to Outflank, as Tireless Advance is the "this special rule" being referred to. The Battle Maniple formation of course would not.
RAI? I think doctortom's reasoning sounds sensible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 23:07:28
Subject: Re:Skitarii Outflank
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Excellent, that's what I was thinking but wanted to double check. Thanks everyone!
|
|
 |
 |
|