Switch Theme:

Emergency disembarkation clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Rampaging Carnifex





Toronto, Ontario

This came up during a game today and I hope we played it right. Emergency Disembarkation (p. 81) reads:

"If any models cannot disembark, because of enemies or because they would end up in impassable terrain, the unit can perform an emergency disembarkation. In this case, a model can be placed anywhere in contact with the vehicle's hull and can then move as for a normal disembarkation. The unit cannot then perform any voluntary actions for the rest of the turn. If even this disembarkation is impossible, because it is impossible to place one or more models, then the unit can't disembark."

During our game it was not possible to place a model in base contact without being within 1" of an enemy model, which is a violation of the rules ("a disembarking model's base cannot be placed within 1" of an enemy model or within impassable terrain", p. 81 under 'Placing Disembarked Models). Does emergency disembarkation give you permission to override this restriction? I don't believe that it does because it says to place your models in contact with the hull and move as for a normal disembarkation, and the final sentence seems to imply that you still need to be able to place your models. We therefore ruled that the embarked unit was destroyed in our game, was this correct?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Emergency disembarkation doesn't allow you to place models within impassable terrain. It simply allows you to effectively use any part of the hull as an Access Point if the actual Access Points are blocked by enemy models or impassable terrain.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





That's how I've always played it at least, and assume that's how it would work. Emergency disembarkation gives no permission to ignore the rules for being within an inch of another model, so you cannot place them within an inch of other models. As such, the unit is destroyed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: