Switch Theme:

Astra Militarum orders and attached (non- Astra Militarum) Independent Characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Dakka Veteran




hello,

got a quick question... i skimmed throught the recently released faqs, but couldnt find a definitive answer...

lets say i have a unit of (guard) infantrymen with an attached space marine captain.
and i wish to order that unit to ignore cover.

what happens?

1. i cannot issue an order to that unit, because there is an independent character from another faction attached to the unit
2. i can issue an order to that unit, but only models from the astra militarum faction benefit from it
3. i can issue an order to that unit, and all models benefit from it

i would appreciate if respondses would contain a quote or a pagenumber or a reference in general

EDIT:
ISSUING AN ORDER
To issue an order, declare the order your officer is attempting to issue and select a single
friendly non-vehicle unit from Codex: Astra Militarum that is within 12" of the officer
(RECEIVING AN ORDER)
‘Fire on my Target!’

‘Fire on my Target!’ can only be issued by a model with the Senior Officer special rule. The
ordered unit must make a shooting attack. When resolving this shooting attack, all weapons
in the ordered unit have the Ignores Cover special rule.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/01/22 05:22:19


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

I think this question/answer from the rulebook FAQ best covers it:

"Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation special rules (e.g. the Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unitwide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii apply to any attached Independent Characters?

A: No. The Formation special rules themselves do not apply to characters that join the Formation (unless specifically stated otherwise), although they may confer other special rules which do apply to characters that have joined units, such as Stealth or Stubborn."


In this case the ordered unit must be a unit from Codex: Astra Militarum, which would not include a joined non-Astra Militarum Independent Character.

I'm not sure that Games Workshop have clarified whether a unit consisting of models from multiple Factions/codices counts as a unit of one of those codices for the purpose of rules such as this, or whether they are ineligible because they are a unit from multiple Factions/codices but how I would play it would be your second option.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




i read the same quote... BUT

the keyword here is formation. a specific formation rules only applies to models from that specific formation, you will find this ruling or a similar ruling about special rules granted by formations throughout all new race specific faqs.

but the orders are a special rule granted by the "army faction" or "codex" not a formation.

so you may be thinking: well great so the second part of the quote will certainly apply... well i dont know...

because the example given, ie. stealth and stubborn specifically state that as long as one model in the unit has it, the special rule applies to the whole unit... so i really dont know if the second part of the quote is supposed to mean that every "normal" special rule will always apply to the whole unit or only if it specifically states that it applies to the whole unit :/

I'm not sure that Games Workshop have clarified whether a unit consisting of models from multiple Factions/codices counts as a unit of one of those codices for the purpose of rules such as this, or whether they are ineligible because they are a unit from multiple Factions/codices but how I would play it would be your second option.

goes both ways... in some situations they will count as neither faction (chapter tactics, space marine faq) sometimes they count as both (hatred, rulebook faq)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/01/22 05:23:42


 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





From some FAQ rulings in the Drafts they seemed to point you unit of AM would benefit from the order but not the space Marine captain.

   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Lord Perversor wrote:
From some FAQ rulings in the Drafts they seemed to point you unit of AM would benefit from the order but not the space Marine captain.


to which rulings are you referring to?

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: