Switch Theme:

Dedicated transports count towards tank allowance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey everyone, just a rules query and looking for how people interpret it.

I've been digging round on the FW website, and looking to start a 30k WE army. But the models are all so awesome, I'm starting to go a little overboard with what I want to buy. What I'm looking to do is build the army with a core of tactical and assault squads mounted in transports, who'll charge up the middle, and use nuncio-vox's to assist with drop-podding the rest of the army in once they hit the enemy. The Berzerker charge ROW specifies that you can't have more tanks or flyer models than you do troop selections. That's fine if say, I get a Kharybdis or a Spartan as a transport for something that can generally only have a rhino as a dedicated transport, that counts towards the limit. But, what about units that can have a Spartan as a dedicated transport, like a unit of Red Butchers. Does their dedicated transport Spartan count towards this tank limit or not?
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






It only says you can't have more Tank and/or Flyer models than Infantry squads. It makes no mention of which battlefield role they come under, so I see no reason why Dedicated Transports wouldn't count. Even Rhinos for Tactical squads would count.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




 AndrewGPaul wrote:
It only says you can't have more Tank and/or Flyer models than Infantry squads. It makes no mention of which battlefield role they come under, so I see no reason why Dedicated Transports wouldn't count. Even Rhinos for Tactical squads would count.


Ah yes, it does say Infantry squads doesn't it? So that means, technically I should be able to get quite a few in there. I don't intend to have any sort of tanks that aren't really transports, so it shouldn't be an issue
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Note that dedicated transports do NOT inherently count towards the limit, only dedicated transports that have the "tank" unit type count. For example, drop pods do not have the "tank" unit type and would not count towards any variant of the "more infantry than tanks" rule.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




 Peregrine wrote:
Note that dedicated transports do NOT inherently count towards the limit, only dedicated transports that have the "tank" unit type count. For example, drop pods do not have the "tank" unit type and would not count towards any variant of the "more infantry than tanks" rule.


Ah yeah, cheers, I'm gonna have to carefully read all the unit entries. I'm mainly looking at Kharybdis and Anvillus drop pods so they do count cause they're flyers
   
 
Forum Index » The Horus Heresy
Go to: