Switch Theme:

Tank Hunters and Ordnance. How do they interact?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Basically what the title says. The Earthshaker cannon of the Basilisk has the Ordnance rule and the tank, if taken under the Emperor's Wrath Formation can be issued with the "Bring it Down" order. I can't seem to find in thee rulebook how would these two interact so anything even a page reference would be helpful...

You shouldn't be worried about the one bullet with your name on it, Boldric. You should be worried about the ones labelled "to whom it may concern"-from Blackadder goes Forth!
 
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

I guess you can roll two dice and then re-roll the one you choose to use.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





As Vector Strike points, each rule govern a different mechanic and should interactuate as normal 1st resolve armor pen then re-roll

Ordinance tell you to roll two-dice as armor pen and choose highest.

Tank hunter tells you you can re-roll an armor pen dice if it fails or if it's a glance and accept second result.

   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Tank Hunter let's you re-roll armour penetration rolls that fail or glance. Both dice rolled are armour penetration, so if neither penetrates I'd say you can re-roll both.

I'm not sure you could re-roll the other if one penetrated, but then again I'm not sure why you would want to either.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/28 17:36:11


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Ordnance makes you roll two dice and pick the highest result (this does not appear to be voluntary in the rules - you could not, for example, choose to pick a "glance" result over a "penetrating hit" result if you were worried that a penetrating hit might cause your target to explode and damage nearby friendly units).

Tank Hunter lets you re-roll armour penetration rolls that glance, but doesn't give you the option if you fail the role - you MUST reroll if you fail due to the way it is worded, particularly the difference in the way it describes failed rolls and glancing rolls.

Because Ordnance is a process you apply all at once, you're only getting one "result" - your roll is either a penetrating hit, a glancing hit, OR a failure, as the second dice was only a potential result and was discarded for the actual (highest roll) result.

Thus, depending on what your result was, your choices are either made for you (if you get a penetrating hit, you CAN'T reroll under Tank Hunter, and if you fail to get a penetrating or glancing hit, you MUST reroll under Tank Hunter - and since you have Ordnance, you roll two dice and choose the best result upon a reroll, as that would NOT be a reroll-of-a-reroll) or you are given a choice (if you get a glancing hit, you can choose to reroll ALL dice, or you can choose to let the result stand, but you CAN'T reroll only one of the Ordnance dice).

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: