Switch Theme:

Blood Slaughterer and Reaction Fire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User




So the Blood Slaughter of Khorne has it's hilarious Impaler that lets it potentially assault after DS. I've seen another thread discuss using it against flyers/overwatching, and agree that it cannot be used to snapshot, and so can't usually be used to do so.

However, in zone mortalis, there is the Reaction fire rule, that lets you shoot at full BS against charging units after an initiative test with pistols, assault or rapid fire weapons (impaler being assault). This is different from foreboding, which explicitly states it doesn't allow weapons to overwatch that cannot normally do so, while Reaction Fire is completely seperate from the overwatch rule, and makes no reference to snapshots (except if the initiative test fails)
This leads to a few questions, and potentially hilarious situations.

1) Can a slaughter use it's impaler to Reaction fire if it passed the initiative test?
2) if the above is true, would the impaler's pull ability come into effect before the charging models make their move? (Being part of the weapons effect, I would presume it would)
3) if both of the above are true, and the distance rolled is high enough to get them into base contact, would it in effect 'cancel' the charging models charge, giving the slaughterer the charge bonus instead?

Apologies if this has been answered in the past, but I haven't been able to find anything about it, but if this actually holds true, could lead to utterly hilarious (if pretty rare) situations in ZM.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/02 01:40:24


 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





You are still overwatching so are considered to be snap shooting. You can´t fire plasma cannons or flamer as normal with reaction fire can you?
   
Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User




Reaction fire isn't the same as overwatch.

From ZM
"Only Pistol, Assault and Rapid Fire weapons may be used for Reaction Fire attacks. Heavy weapons may only be used for Reaction Fire attacks if the model carrying them has the Relentless special rule. Note that other weapons in the squad may still make normal Overwatch snap fire attempts, if they are eligible, alongside the rest of the unit’s Reaction Fire."

It does explicitly state blast weapons can't be used however, and the rules for templates are identical to overwatch unless I'm blind.

"If successful, it may fire its weapons at the assaulting enemy with their full Ballistic Skill. If the test is unsuccessful, the unit may still make a normal Overwatch attack (i.e., snapshots at BS 1) instead."

There is nothing that suggests reaction fire are snap shots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/02 20:35:22


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually it suggests it is an abnormal overwatch, meaning snapshot
   
Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Actually it suggests it is an abnormal overwatch, meaning snapshot


I disagree. The fact that it specifically states that it's a snap shot if they fail the initiative test, and the fact it also specifically forbids blast weapons from using reaction fire makes it seem unlikely.

If they were full bs snapshots, it would make sense to state as much, like Foreboding, otherwise both the above points are completely redundant.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bokkn wrote:
So the Blood Slaughter of Khorne has it's hilarious Impaler that lets it potentially assault after DS. I've seen another thread discuss using it against flyers/overwatching, and agree that it cannot be used to snapshot, and so can't usually be used to do so.

However, in zone mortalis, there is the Reaction fire rule, that lets you shoot at full BS against charging units after an initiative test with pistols, assault or rapid fire weapons (impaler being assault). This is different from foreboding, which explicitly states it doesn't allow weapons to overwatch that cannot normally do so, while Reaction Fire is completely seperate from the overwatch rule, and makes no reference to snapshots (except if the initiative test fails)
This leads to a few questions, and potentially hilarious situations.

1) Can a slaughter use it's impaler to Reaction fire if it passed the initiative test?
2) if the above is true, would the impaler's pull ability come into effect before the charging models make their move? (Being part of the weapons effect, I would presume it would)
3) if both of the above are true, and the distance rolled is high enough to get them into base contact, would it in effect 'cancel' the charging models charge, giving the slaughterer the charge bonus instead?

Apologies if this has been answered in the past, but I haven't been able to find anything about it, but if this actually holds true, could lead to utterly hilarious (if pretty rare) situations in ZM.


Nothing would negate the charge from the other unit. The pull effect would potentially shorten their charge distance. And you would not get a charge bonus on their charge.
   
Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User




The rules for the impaler state that the slaughterer counts as having charged the unit, if the impaler drags them into base contact.
I could see them both getting a charge bonus though...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: