Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 02:16:01
Subject: So, according to the current FAQs, you cannot have a Skitarii Vanguard unit in a Grand Convocation
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
A Grand Convocation has 4+ Troops.
Skitarii Vanguard are listed as one of the Troops options.
A Skitarii Vanguard unit consits of 4 Skitarii Vanguard and 1 Vanguard Alpha.
As the Vanguard Alpha is not a listed Model, it cannot be taken.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 04:44:06
Subject: So, according to the current FAQs, you cannot have a Skitarii Vanguard unit in a Grand Convocation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not sure if OP is serious...
Every space marine formation lists things like "Devastator squads" or "Assault squads" but there are no models in an unit with those names, the models are "space marine" or "veteran sergeant" or "Sergeant" etc. Certainly you don't think every single space marine formation cannot be used?
Some formations/detachments have a restriction of 1 model
At the beginning of the "Grand Convocation" detachment it states it deals with units, then states you can purchase the units from their datasheet.
The restriction to "one skitarri vanguard" which we are told references the unit, and its datasheet, specifically in the rules for the grand convocation.
the alpha is an option on that datashseet for that unit.
Or do you believe you can only select 1 skitarri Vanguard model which is not a valid unit selection?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 04:52:31
Subject: So, according to the current FAQs, you cannot have a Skitarii Vanguard unit in a Grand Convocation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Just a troll, move on.
|
8th Overhaul!
Over 18,000 SM
Over 7000 Tyranids
About 3000 Genestealer cult
About 6000 IG
About 2500 Chaos
About 5000 Skitarii/Admech *Current focus
About 3000 Deamons
2 Imperial Knigts... Soon to be a third
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 05:06:14
Subject: So, according to the current FAQs, you cannot have a Skitarii Vanguard unit in a Grand Convocation
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
I'm curious as to which part of the new FAQ you're referring to in support of your claim.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 06:21:48
Subject: So, according to the current FAQs, you cannot have a Skitarii Vanguard unit in a Grand Convocation
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Presumably, the one in which describes only taking a single Canoptek Spyder model in the Canoptek Harvest.
If the detachment listed is a Formation, and it listed 4+ Skitarii Vanguard, then it would only be talking about the Vanguard models, and not the units.
However, if the detachment is a Role-based Detachment which has Troop Slots, then it is mistaken as their Force Organisation Charts "(show) the number of units of each battlefield role that you may include in this Detachment."
For non-Formation Choices in a Choice-based Detachment ala the Strike Forces, then those are referring to Army List Entries which represent units, not the specific models inside each unit.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|