I think the two important phrases from SfD are:
"As if it was your [movement, shooting, charge sub] phase"
and
"Even if [the unit] had already done so this turn"
So, when deciding what you can do, first ask question 1:
"If it was my movement/shooting/charge phase RIGHT NOW, could I take this action?" If the answer is yes, go ahead.
If the answer is no, ask the second question: "Is that solely because the unit has already done this action this turn"? If the answer is yes, go ahead, Soulburst let's you do it again.
Lets apply these to examples from the
OP:
A single wind rider dies (and he was the only model in his unit), triggering a soulburst action in a unit of windriders 7" away, as they have SfD. The important thing here is that it is currently your movement phase (as you said). In this example, you chose to move as your soulburst action.
Q1: can they normally move in your movement phase? Yes, go ahead.
In your next movement phase you can also move, unless something is stopping you.
Say instead, you chose to shoot in that movement phase.
Q1: can they normally shoot in their shooting phase? Yes, they didn't do something like turbo boost or something to prevent it. Go ahead. However, when it comes you your ACTUAL shooting phase (next phase), and you want to shoot, the
BRB says you can only shoot once per turn, bear that in mind.
Example 2:
Jetbikes turbo boosted in your turn, and now it's the opponents turn and you want to soulburst.
Q1: could I turbo boost if it was my shooting phase RIGHT NOW? Yes, turbo boosting prevents the unit from taking any other voluntary actions until the end of my turn. BUT, it's now the opponents turn, not mine.
Example 3:
Warp spiders used hit and run in your own assault phase to get out of combat. By definition, it is currently the fight sub phase of your turn, because you have used hit and run, which happens after combat. Can you charge the same unit you broke off from just now?
Q1: Could I charge if it was my charge sub phase RIGHT NOW? Unless you are disallowed (gone to ground, came in by deep strike, already locked in combat etc - more examples are given in the
BRB), yes you can. As long as you are in range of a charge - that's another requirement of charging. If the rulebook had said you can only charge once a turn this would be different, but it doesn't say that
iirc.
Let's have one more example (that you didn't give), so we can bring question 2 into use:
In your shooting phase, you shot a unit with your dire avengers. In your assault phase of the same turn, a unit dies within 7" of your dire avengers, and your dire avengers have SfD. You decide you want to shoot with your dire avengers as your Soulburst action.
Q1: If it was my shooting phase RIGHT NOW, could I shoot with them? No, you can only shoot once a turn, and you've done so already in this turn.
Q2: Is the reason you can't take this action solely because you have already taken this action previously this turn? Yes - I didn't go to ground or whatever else that prevents me from shooting. Soulburst allows me to do this action even if I've done it before this turn.
I think these questions help to resolve some Soulburst situation questions, but feel free to come up with your own scenarios to test these questions, maybe they don't always work