Switch Theme:

Blast/Nova/Templates hitting multiple units and Strength from Death activation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Shoreline

So I have a specific scenario that would like the community to analyze:

Let’s say that a blast/nova/template hits multiple Ynnari units (all units are within 7" of each other).
-Which unit does the attack resolve first? The main target or attacking player’s discretion?
-If a unit is completely destroyed, can the other unit activates SfD?
-If so, is it activated before or after the attack is resolved on that unit?
-If it is before can they move out of blast/nova/template marker and not be hit by the attack?

So the main question is basically, is hit allocation from blast/nova/templates that covers multiple units sequential or at the same time?

Any help and clarification would help. Thanks!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Active player would determine the order in which to resolve the effects.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Shoreline

Fragile wrote:
Active player would determine the order in which to resolve the effects.


Would you care to elaborate more?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Tautastic wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Active player would determine the order in which to resolve the effects.


Would you care to elaborate more?

Page 8 or 9 in the BRB (from memory) says that anytime 2 actions happen at the same time, the player whose turn it is get to decide which action happens first.
So in this case, the player would obviously choose to resolve his Nova first.

As a side note, this probably would not matter since all the hits are allocated at the same time anyway. It makes sense to resolve them 1 unit at a time, but at the moment the Nova/Blast occurred, it still hit all units in range. So you would still resolve the hits even if you move away.
You could resolve a shooting attack prior to those hits being resolved though, as Soulburst actions happen "immediately"

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/15 17:01:02


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Tautastic wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Active player would determine the order in which to resolve the effects.


Would you care to elaborate more?


SEQUENCING
While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar. When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Shoreline

Thanks for the clarifications!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: