Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/15 18:21:25
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Reborn Warhost have rules that states "If this Detachment includes 7 or more units..." . Not "as long as this detachment".
If it have 7 units but then 1 is destroyed, do they still keep the benefit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/15 18:25:24
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They should. It doesn't say "7 units still alive" , "7 units on the board" or anything like that. During list creation, if you have 7 or more units, the detachment includes them whether or not they become casualties at some point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/15 19:10:15
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Exactly. The word "includes" is a reference to list building.
You list 'includes' every unit to took, regardless of whether they died in the game or not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/15 20:15:18
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks! With those rules you never know
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/16 12:37:18
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
UK, Midlands
|
Does the second unit you want to make a Soulburst with have to also be within 7" of the unit that was destroyed? Seems like it must be but IIRC the command benefit does not mention SfD or 7", just that an additional unit can Soulburst when a unit is destroyed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/16 12:38:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/16 13:37:53
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Moosatronic Warrior wrote:Does the second unit you want to make a Soulburst with have to also be within 7" of the unit that was destroyed?
Seems like it must be but IIRC the command benefit does not mention SfD or 7", just that an additional unit can Soulburst when a unit is destroyed.
That's up for debate right now. I believe the intent is to allow a second unit within 7" of the destroyed unit to Soulburst, but as you said, the rule just states that a second unit from this detachment may also Soulburst. RAW, that could be any unit on the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/16 13:55:09
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
UK, Midlands
|
I also don't think it specifies that a unit has to have the SfD special rule to get the second soulburst action, which is clearly not how it should be. Not sure if you can have any non-SfD units in the formation though, vehicles maybe? I think it says an additional unit, rather than a second, so if you wanted to be really rules lawyery you could claim that a unit destroyed miles from any of your stuff triggers a soulburst action in addition to the 0 soulburst actions it normally triggers. Dark reapers destroy something across the board then get to shoot again? Not in my house.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/16 13:57:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/17 04:58:02
Subject: Reborn Warhost (again...) detachment benefits if units removed
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shoreline
|
Galef wrote:Moosatronic Warrior wrote:Does the second unit you want to make a Soulburst with have to also be within 7" of the unit that was destroyed?
Seems like it must be but IIRC the command benefit does not mention SfD or 7", just that an additional unit can Soulburst when a unit is destroyed.
That's up for debate right now. I believe the intent is to allow a second unit within 7" of the destroyed unit to Soulburst, but as you said, the rule just states that a second unit from this detachment may also Soulburst. RAW, that could be any unit on the board.
Oh gosh! I hope GW put out an FAQ on this quickly! I can already see the forthcoming abuses... kills a unit a WK moves 12" and then makes a 1st turn charge! On a brighter note can't wait to see a fight between Ynnari and Gladius Strike Force
|
|
 |
 |
|