Switch Theme:

Can units count as part of multiple formations?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator





Illinois

Am I correct to assume that units that are part of a formation can't also be part of another formation (maybe there's already a rule for this, but I can't check ATM)? Like if I took a whirlwind suppression force and a raptor wing, with both of those formations including a landspeeder, they each to have a dedicated land speeder assigned to them and can't both have the same one, right?
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





No units only can belong to a single CAD detachment or Formation according to rules.

Only exception it the Warhost,Decurion formations wich are built with several formations together , but still each one it's compriaed of it's specific units

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/17 16:12:14


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Battlegrinder wrote:
Am I correct to assume that units that are part of a formation can't also be part of another formation (maybe there's already a rule for this, but I can't check ATM)? Like if I took a whirlwind suppression force and a raptor wing, with both of those formations including a landspeeder, they each to have a dedicated land speeder assigned to them and can't both have the same one, right?

From the Rulebook > Choosing Your Army > Detachments > Paragraph 4:
There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available, within the restrictions of the rules that follow. However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment....

That is the base rule. Without any other specific instructions, that is what you stick to.

However, there are two different types of detachments which make things a little murky.

One example is the Guardians of Perdita Formation which has its unit list of 3 other Formations under the Special Rule:
The units in this Formation retain all of the special rules specified from their individual Formation datasheets. In addition, the following special rules apply to the Formation.

This does not make them members of two detachments, though. As such, the listed Formations are just used for their unit lists and Special Rules.

Then there are the Strike Forces, Warhosts, Decurion, etc Choice Detachments which specifically state a variation of:
Although units cannot normally belong to more than one Detachment, units from a Formation that is part of a Gladius Strike Force are an exception. They count as part of both their Formation and the Detachment, and have all associated Command Benefits and special rules. If your Warlord is part of a Formation or an Army List Entry that makes up part of a Gladius Strike Force, that entire Gladius Strike Force is your Primary Detachment.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: