Switch Theme:

Wolf Guard Thunderstrike FAQ - Formation stuck in reserve forever?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I couldn't find this elsewhere. sorry if it's already been discussed.

The SW FAQ says:
Q: When using the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike Formation from
the Champions of Fenris supplement, if the Drop Pod is the
only Drop Pod in your army, how does that work with regards to
the Drop Pod Assault special rule?
A: Ignore the Drop Pod Assault special rule for the Drop
Pod from the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike Formation

Drop pod assault is the only thing that allows DP's to enter via deepstrike. They do NOT have deepstrike.
The terminators must arrive when the pod arrives.
The pod will never arrive.

Therefore: If this formation is selected they will remain in reserve until the end of the game.

Am I missing something or has RAW fricked RAI once again?

If you were a TO how would you rule this? Both arrive first turn? Both roll after second turn? The two squads may be split up?

Like Minis and sculpts? Check out our Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/themakerscult 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I think we all know that drop pods are supposed to have the deep strike rule, but for some reason don't.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I think we all know GW intended all librarians to get the new Psy powers but there's a huge debate about it going on parallel to this because of what GW wrote.

This is a RAW/TO question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/17 21:57:01


Like Minis and sculpts? Check out our Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/themakerscult 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Ok, that's just hilarious XD. I'd say that's a case of so obviously broken that anybody would allow you to deepstrike the pod, presumably normally, so turn 2.
Otherwise it would have to come onto the table from your table edge and just stop as soon as you can fit it in. I believe there was a similar situation covered somewhere.
The same could happen if you have to roll for difficult terrain before even entering the table and you get immobilized.
I can't remember where I saw this discussed or if it was in the faq, but I think you're supposed to move it the minimum distance onto the table rather than destroy it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/02/18 15:11:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: